Banana: Fruit of “Pura Vida”

Sibani Ram
TheNextNorm
Published in
3 min readJun 22, 2019
Banana work in the field
“Pura Vida”!

For some, unpeeling and biting into that first bit of a banana evokes the sunshine spirit. It’s as if taste has transcended time in a soft flavor of paradise. Well, no offense to the banana, but it has never been my beloved fruit. I’ve always viewed it as a chore out the door — a quick something to shove into my mouth to make room for precious minutes of sleeping-in during the school year. That is…until I strode into EARTH University’s cafeteria in search of the hastiest breakfast. In my first week at EARTH University as a 2019 Borlaug-Ruan Intern, my perception has shattered. Whether another week or 10 years go by, I know the banana will unfailingly help me taste the meaning of “Pura Vida”.

I’ve lost count of the number of times I’ve heard the phrase “Pura Vida”. From the first groggy 2am car conversation with my chauffeur to discussing life at EARTH with campus faculty, this phrase is Costa Rica’s lifeblood. Simple, yet sophisticated, it is a reminder that there are gifts in every situation. Like the greenery that weaves itself around EARTH to reveal a feast for the eyes, “Pura Vida” is a resounding mantra that drives the pulse of a lovely life. It’s meaning is ambiguous, but perhaps as my chauffeur described it, “Pura Vida” means what Costa Rica strives to embody everyday — “ it’s a beautiful life”. Digging for banana tubers in the scorching sun, “Pura Vida”. Persistent rain during the workday, “Pura Vida”. Walking miles amidst nature’s crystals in pursuit of the day’s next task, “Pura Vida”. The phrase has shown me that small struggles that shape the soul of journeys and make them a whole. Perhaps no better process breathes this spirit than the banana preparation process.

Who knew that I’d come to Costa Rica to be drawn in by the journey of fruit? Here at EARTH, the banana’s journey left me speechless and soul struck. It wasn’t just the majestic trees towering over EARTH’s organic farm. Not was it the vibrant fruits so neatly packaged in bunches. Rather it was camaraderie, or “psychic income” of collaboration in the stages of banana preparation, that evolved my love for the fruit in one week. As I grabbed a banana in the cafeteria this morning, I could remember yesterday’s collaboration with co-worker Alejandra — the meticulous steps of ensuring that each banana’ produced at EARTH is carefully weighed, evaluated for damage, washed, and nurtured till it reaches the palate. With every bite, I think of how much labor has gone into getting the banana into the eater’s hands. It’s hours of labor at the crack of dawn. It’s a multistep process riddled with stories of sacrifice. It’s EARTH’s effort to feed hunger through innovative research.

My first week in Costa Rica is kaleidoscope of “Pura Vida” revelations I refuse to let fade, but perhaps the most powerful revelation came from a fruit I once resisted. Now, it is the fruit I want to research in regards to the impacts of Sigatoka disease. The banana is no longer an intruder on my plate, but a welcoming gesture meant to elucidate that life is a journey of process of product.

Pura Vida,

Sibani

--

--

Sibani Ram
TheNextNorm

| Borlaug-Ruan International Intern at EARTH University in Limón, Costa Rica | Duke University ’23 | IA |