Culture and Cuisine

¡Saludos a todos!

Stefany Naranjo
TheNextNorm
4 min readJun 26, 2019

--

My time in Lima, Peru, has been nothing less of incredible. Traveling to a foreign country by myself was intimidating, to say the least. Leading up to the trip, I worried that I would miss a connecting flight or something would go terribly wrong before I would even make it to my destination, but I am glad to say that I have made it safely to Peru!

The culture of the country can be seen within each person that you meet, their kindness exemplifies the beauty that Peru is. Everyone welcomes you with their arms wide open. They often go above and beyond to make sure you are comfortable and well feed. From the mountains to the coast, there is always a plethora of new smells, sights, and people.

I spent my first weekend exploring the historic downtown center of Lima. The city is full of rich history and as you walk around you can see the development of different building styles go from Pre-Columbian to the Neoclassical time periods.

Whilst exploring downtown, I began to have a taste of a little bit of everything…literally. The cuisine of Peru is full of unique spices, meats, and tradition. There are flavors here that you won’t find in any other place in the world.

Peru is the home to over 4,000 native potato varieties! They come in an assortment of shapes, colors, and sizes. They are able to grow in most climates, so this plant can be scouted everywhere from the mountains to the coasts to the jungles in this country. This humble tuber is found in the homes of many and it provides antioxidants that are believed to play an important role in preventing cancer and diseases related to ageing.

The delicacy in cuisine in Peru is brought by a range of altitudes and allows for a diversity of produce and meats. Peru is right off of the coast of the Pacific Ocean, which allows families to have a staple of fresh fish in their diets. Each meal is usually accompanied by a starch of either rice or potatoes. Fresh fruits, dried nuts, and sauces are also components of any meal in Peru. All of these products are often found in the local markets!

The desserts here are AMAZING. Luckily, my host mom is a chocolate fanatic, allowing me to taste the best of the best. Let me tell you, the tortas de chocolate (essentially chocolate cake with a glaze) are to die for.

From the very beginning, I knew that I was in for an adventure of a lifetime. I have had an incredible time so far and I am excited for the weeks to come! ¡Hasta Luego!

Stefany

--

--

Stefany Naranjo
TheNextNorm

2019 Borlaug-Ruan International Intern | International Potato Center CIP | Iowa State University