Embracing the Uncomfortable

Halee Marie Fisher
TheNextNorm
Published in
3 min readJul 12, 2019

Even while I am “Living the Dream,” there are still areas that are unexpected or uncomfortable in my transition to living temporarily in Mexico. One thing that was hard for me was the temperature of my room. I know it seems funny, but my room is a solid 85 degrees. No, there is no air conditioning and the only option is to turn on the vent that blows out that same hot air. For someone who is use to sleeping in a cold, air conditioned basement, it was not the most pleasing welcome. On top of that, I got some really bad food poisoning. And when I mean bad, I mean baddddd. Last weekend I woke up drenched in sweat and my stomach telling me that it was not a happy fellow. I threw up all night long for a total of 10 times (sorry to be graphic, it’s reality). That morning I was exhausted, hot and the last place you want to be is in an 85 degree room thousands of miles from home. I went to the doctor on campus that morning and I got diagnosed with a food parasite that is very common for people traveling from the United States. I found myself relieved that I had a diagnoses, but was not fond of the label on my medicine that read, “Most common side effect: nausea and vomiting.” You have got to be kidding me. That’s all I remember thinking because the last thing and I mean the last thing I wanted to do was throw up more. The weekend was going well, I wasn’t throwing up anymore and then Sunday came. The dreaded Sunday. I seemed to have a deja vu moment when my stomach woke me up at 1 am telling me it really wasn’t happy this time. Yes, there I was throwing up, drenched in sweat, but this time it was another 13 times or so. I really was done with this whole throwing up thing because I had lost 4 pounds and I really wanted to be “Living the Dream” that I was the week before. This time I went to the hospital where I was given shots in the butt (ouch), and lots of queasy medicine (hallelujah)!! Finally, I knew I was not going to throw up anymore and just the thought of that brought tears to my eyes. If you know me, you know I have the most sensitive stomach ever so this was destined to be. In all of the horrible tribulations I was able to learn a valuable lesson, perspective. On of my favorite motivators that I watch, Gary V once said, “Negativity always wins the short game, but positivity wins the long game.” It was easy to be mad, sad or fearful in my situation, but I know from personal experience that gets you nowhere. I seem to always to look at things in a brightened light, like while I was throwing up I found myself laughing because who gets to experience the wonderful opportunity of having an 8 week internship of their dreams? I did. I was so beyond lucky, no matter what scenario I was in. In that moment, I got to reflect on all the amazing experiences I got to embrace this weekend. Like this picture below. 9 countries represented here. I got to talk to people all around the world about their life, cultures and passions. An experience I get to relive at 12:00 every. single. day. I am so incredibly thankful for that.

It really is all about embracing the uncomfortable. Because life really isn’t a box of chocolates. You’ll have those really sweet moments, but you’ll also find those 90% cacao chocolates that really aren’t so sweet. It’s all about loving those great moments and remembering those great moments when life isn’t going too well.

And to end my blog, here is my quote of the week:“ It’s not what you look at that matters, it’s what you see.” — Henry David Thoreau

--

--

Halee Marie Fisher
TheNextNorm

My passion and enthusiasm for agriculture has lead me to be a 2019 Borlaug Ruan International Intern where I am placed at CIMMYT, Mexico studying socioeconomics