Finding the Unity Abroad

Stefany Naranjo
TheNextNorm
Published in
3 min readJul 25, 2019

When I first learned that I was traveling to Peru, I was ecstatic to see and learn all about their rich and colorful culture that they had to offer. Throughout my internship, I have been able to do just that and I have made amazing friendships along the way. None of this would have been possible if I had jumped at the opportunity to travel to this international experience.

I have found it to be an important aspect for students to experience a different culture than their own. Whether it be interning or studying abroad, the journey one takes only brings them to grow in a variety of aspects. You get to understand yourself on a deeper level. Traveling abroad, especially when you are by yourself, lets you rely on no one but yourself and it helps you grow independence. You have to force yourself to try new things and step out of your comfort zone.

When I first arrived at CIP, I wasn’t fully confident in my Spanish abilities. Yes, I knew Spanish coming into this adventure, but I was still timid in my inability to understand the quick speaking native speakers. One day, I went outside to see the different sports the workers play to exercise during lunch. There was everything from Zumba to soccer. Out there was the language I knew I could understand no matter what speed they were going. A skill that I had worked years on throughout my high school career, volleyball. It was as simple as asking, “¿Puedo jugar?” (Can I play?) and the next thing I knew, I was full speed in the game. Overcoming the hesitation and building up the courage to ask to join really helped me settle in those first couple of days. After that day, I realized that we may not all speak the same language at the same pace, but we can find the things that unite us no matter the differences that we face.

Traveling abroad gives you a new perspective and shows you a part of the world in a way you never would have imagined. Experiencing a new culture aids in appreciating the differences that we all share. You learn to love what makes us each unique and it helps you develop deeper friendships with every new person that you meet. While language barriers may prevent us from communicating, finding the things that we share in common helps to unite us all.

¡Hasta Luego!

~Stefany

--

--

Stefany Naranjo
TheNextNorm

2019 Borlaug-Ruan International Intern | International Potato Center CIP | Iowa State University