Gabby Goes to College

Gabby Henrichs
TheNextNorm
Published in
2 min readAug 20, 2018

Arriving home after living independently for two months in Nepal was an experience all in itself. Not only adjusting back to the 9 hour time difference but getting used to the lavish lifestyles here in America.

Of course I was excited to see my friends and family again, but it was such a strange adjustment back. I have such and appreciation for how easy everything is here, but I also have a feeling of resentment for how we live so extreme. We are so wasteful and have such a limited appreciation for everything that we have here.

When arriving back in the U.S. I was greeted with an exhausting case of jet-lag and a nasty cold that is still holding on. I spent the first few days trying to stay awake and sipping tea sitting on a swing. I couldn’t help but appreciate the clean air and quietness of my rural town.

When visiting with friends and family the common questions were “How was Nepal?” “What was it like?” After attempting to answer these questions many times I have concluded the most truthful answers- Nepal was amazing, and there is nothing that I could even compare Nepal to, to help you understand what it was like. Overall the experience was truly life changing and I would highly recommend traveling out of the country for any amount of time. You will gain a greater perspective and an experience that is priceless.

As I have mentioned in earlier blogs, I have grown in so many ways as a person during this experience. This has prepared me for the next chapter of my life; college. Surely after a summer in Nepal, a college an hour from home should be a piece of cake. I can honestly say that I feel extremely comfortable with this new adventure because of my summer abroad.

I am so thankful for what my summer as a Borlaug-Ruan International Intern has taught me. The adventures and the amazing people I met and worked with will forever be with me. After this experience and seeing first hand the need for global food security I am more motivated to make an impact. I want to work and continue to travel globally in the future. For right now, I’m going to focus on college so that I can continue into this field after graduation.

--

--