Journey Coming to an End

Gautham Ajith
TheNextNorm
Published in
3 min readAug 22, 2019

“Does anyone have any questions?” A round of applause came from the staff and researchers at the Sehgal Foundation. These final words of my presentation concluded the internship. My journey as a Borlaug-Ruan intern started over six weeks ago. During the internship, I had gathered data and wrote a research paper. My research paper addressed an important question: why are farmers not implementing micro-irrigation systems? This paper was focused in Mewat which is a region in Haryana, India. There is a large population of farmers that do not use efficient irrigation practices, and this causes the over extraction of groundwater. As a result, water scarcity and salinity became an issue.

At the Sehgal Foundation, I had the opportunity to talk to more interns and learn more about Indian agriculture and social issues. Topics like education, soil salinity, and financial support were being researched by these interns. This only gave me a small insight of the work that the SM Sehgal Foundation does. Three important and intertwined issues hurt the rural part of India: poor water management, food insecurity and corruption. The SM Sehgal Foundation addresses these problems with initiatives to help protect rural India. I had the opportunity to learn about some of the foundation’s programs such as the Alfaz-e-Mewat community radio which educates farmers about agricultural and social issues. The radio station has daily lessons on financial and agricultural topics for the people of Mewat. Special guests come in to talk about these vital topics and share success stories. Those who listen to the radio can call the station and asks questions. This helps build a connection between the radio and the communities in Mewat. The radio station is housed in a Sehgal Foundation community center.

“It takes collaboration across a community to develop better skills for better lives.”- Jose Angel Gurria

Every time I went to visit the field, I could witness the relationship between the staff of the Sehgal Foundation and the villagers by the conversations. There was openness and respect present in the conversation. It was amazing to see the fundamental idea of relationship-building between the Sehgal foundations and communities. With understanding and helpful staff working with the communities, amazing relationships are being formed. Time is spent with villagers and leaders to understand what the real grass-root problems are. Based off this, they form ideas and solutions to each of the communities’ issues. Whenever I perceived a non-for-profit organization implementing a solution, I would think it would be slightly forced as people would be struggling. This perception has changed through the work of the Sehgal Foundation. I have a deep appreciation for the work they do.

This internship has helped me better understand the value of what I have learnt.

Derek and I with our mentors

--

--