Lessons From The Taj Mahal

Derek Sherrange
TheNextNorm
Published in
2 min readJul 25, 2019

One Saturday we set out early in the morning from Gurugram on our way to the Taj Mahal. Six of us packed into a small van to see one of the wonders of the world. What we thought was going to be a two-hour drive turned into a 4-hour drive. We got a little lost, our van was almost hit by about a hundred different rickshaws, and sleep was out of the question. But four hours later we made it to the Taj Mahal and it was all worth it.

The Taj Mahal and other wonders of the world can teach us a lot about the world itself. The Taj Mahal and its beauty attract people from all around the world. I was just another one of the millions of people who come to see the Taj Mahal every year. It did not feel like that though. When I was there I felt part of something larger than myself. I found myself part of a global community not defined by borders, religion, race, ethnicity or language. This is what I think the beauty of the Taj Mahal can teach the world. Some things are so beautiful that they bring everyone together in pure admiration.

My trip to the Taj Mahal showed me how we are all more alike than the world likes to think. Five inters went on this trip; one student from New York, 3 students from Iowa, and one intern visiting from an NGO in Egypt. We went on this adventure barely knowing each other and we returned as friends. We can all find commonalities and ways to connect no matter where we come from. I now have 4 more friends than I came to India with.

From left to right, Theresa, Jinal, Myself, Gautham, Raghav

--

--

Derek Sherrange
TheNextNorm

2019 Borlaug-Ruan Intern at the S M Sehgal Foundation