Lessons of a Lifetime

Stefany Naranjo
TheNextNorm
Published in
3 min readSep 8, 2019

The journey I have been on has been incredible and has surprised me in ways that I never could have imagined. My experience was filled with growth and new findings of enjoyment. The people that have surrounded me have impacted me and shown me different lessons that I will take with me going forward in life.

Coming back to Iowa, has been nothing short of a whirlwind. Readapting to my life at home has been an adventure and I have certainly experienced some reverse culture shock. Living abroad has given me a new sense of independence and a new style of living. I have incorporated the lessons I have learned and how I have spent my summer living into my daily routine. A big factor from that has been mindfulness. Taking the time to be present in the moment and doing each action full of intent and purpose. This is something that my host mother taught me a lot about and it has impacted me ever since.

Mindfulness is awareness that arises through paying attention, on purpose, in the present moment, non-judgementally ~Jon Kabat-Zinn

I am extremely grateful for the opportunity to be a 2019 Borlaug-Ruan International Intern. This journey will always have a special place in my heart. I would like to extend my gratitude to the International Potato Center for hosting me this summer. To my colleagues and dear friends, thank you is not enough. You have each welcomed me into your lives and have changed mine for the better. I will forever hold the memories and laughter that we have shared close to my heart. Thank you for not only teaching me, but helping me become a better version of myself.

¡Hasta Luego!

❤ Stefany Naranjo

--

--

Stefany Naranjo
TheNextNorm

2019 Borlaug-Ruan International Intern | International Potato Center CIP | Iowa State University