Gautham Ajith
TheNextNorm
Published in
3 min readJul 12, 2019

--

Naya Dilli (New Delhi)

As the interns and I got out of the auto rickshaw, beams of sunlight shot down hard on us. The line of people stretched all the way from one intersection to the other. Under the sweltering heat, we stepped into the line. We were pushed forward by the impatient and eager people. Slowly, we inched towards the entrance of the Lotus temple. After turning a corner from the beautiful garden, a large white marble structure stood in front of us. Large pedals of marble extruded elegantly into the sky creating a Lotus. Serenity hit me as our group walked closer and closer to the temple. Near the entrance was shimmering blue water. In the temple, the interns and I sat on the marble benches. The calm nature inside contradicted the hectic world from the outside. The sense of urgency and awareness gently entered into my mind as we slowly entered back into the life of Delhi.

Lotus Temple

From the Lotus temple, we went to Hauz Khas to try some cultural food. Eating Delhi chaat, drinking lemon-lime soda, and devouring naans with curries, our mouths were blasted by flavors and spices. After attempting to see a park filled with deer and other wildlife, the Delhi interns realized that the heat might be a little intolerable for us. Our plan changed from going to India Gate to going to a mall…

My eyes had literally popped out of my sockets. A mall, the size of three football fields, came into view. The Uber stopped just outside of the mall due to the immense crowding of cars. As we stepped out, the unbearable heat returned. In awe, I witnessed a line of luxury vehicles being taken over by valet. Security guards welcomed us after being screened for weapons. The air conditioning brought goose bumps and relief from the scorching sun. We were surrounded by stores, food and most evident, people. Constantly keeping check of my wallet and phone, we explored all areas of the mall.

These were not the only majestic pieces of architecture Derek and I visited. The President’s house was another marvel. (India has the Prime Minister as the leader of the country, the President is in charge of the armed forces and is an executive). We were taken by a tour guide on a 45-minute exploration of this Palace.

“Kids should be allowed to break stuff more often. That’s a consequence of exploration. Exploration is what you do when you don’t know what you’re doing. That’s what scientists do every day.”

  • Neil deGrasse Tyson

If I am going to be living in North India, it is best for me to learn how to live like a North Indian. I spent every weekend traveling around my surroundings. Starting with learning how the metro system works to learning how to bargain with street vendors. Hitches did occur, but learning how to adapt and not making them occur again was necessary. I believe that exploration is as important as the internship is itself. I learn more about myself and the world if I am able to see what life actually is past the barriers of 4 walls.

--

--