Acing the Test

Kaci Ginn
TheNextNorm
Published in
3 min readJun 21, 2018

¿Qué tal? What’s up?

Greetings from grey and gloomy Lima, Peru! Peru is located in the southern hemisphere, which means that it is currently invierno (winter). I am pleased to report that it has been a steady 15–16 degrees Celsius for the past two weeks, with little-to-no variance. One fun fact about Lima is that most homes and buildings do not have any heaters or furnaces. This can make for some chilly mornings and evenings!

CIP’s Genebank houses germ plasm and seeds of the potato, sweet potato, and Andean roots and tubers in an effort to maintain genetic integrity for research, education, and breeding purposes for the short and long term.

When reflecting on the first two weeks of my new adventure as a Borlaug-Ruan Intern at the International Potato Center (CIP) in Lima, Peru, I am reminded of all of the people who helped me to get here. The World Food Prize and the amazing opportunities they are creating for young people and the next generation of hunger fighters. The life and legacy of Dr. Norman Borlaug, and the inspiration that he lends to us all. Finally, to all of my wonderful supporters back in Iowa. You are my biggest cheerleaders and will stop at nothing to ensure that I experience success far beyond my wildest imagination. Thank you for everything.

Throughout my first two weeks at CIP I was able to tour and observe the work being done in the different labs where I will be working throughout my eight week internship. I was also fortunate to meet with a large share of the senior staff at CIP who are all very welcoming as well as passionate about the work being done at CIP.

Along with the many labs housed at CIP, there are fields where different varieties of potatoes (papas) and sweetpotatoes (papas dulces) are bred using traditional breeding methods to achieve desired traits or characteristics. The resulting varieties produced with these traditional methods are called clones. The potato clones produced are then processed and oftentimes analyzed in-house in the various labs.

One important element of the potato breeding and biofortification process is organoleptic testing. Organoleptic testing involves utilizing the senses to determine whether the potato clone that was produced has satisfactory taste, texture, and appearance. A taste test, of sorts. When I first heard about this this testing, I thought “Now that’s a test that I can get behind!” It sounds great in theory, right?! That all you do is sit around all day and eat potatoes? Wrong.

A typical setup for the organoleptic testing.

“Then rate the consistency from extremadamente harinoso a muy aguanoso.” Seems easy enough, right? Little did I know, I was in for three different rounds of this potato taste test.

Twenty-four samples of plain, boiled potato later; I am happy to report that I did, in fact, survive. However, if there is an occurrence of any further organoleptic testing during my time at CIP, you will find me deep in my work and not to be bothered.

Alas, participants were rewarded [re: bribed] with a very delicious piece of cake after the second round of testing in an effort to ensure participation in the third and final test the following day. I am pleased to report the bribe was most effective.

Kaci

--

--

Kaci Ginn
TheNextNorm

2018 Borlaug-Ruan International Intern, International Potato Center (CIP) in Lima, Peru