The End of an Adventure

Sydney Sherer
TheNextNorm
Published in
2 min readAug 16, 2018

My time here in Kenya has been one of the most amazing experiences of my life. As I write this blog I’m reminded of all of the great memories and friends that I have made this summer. I can’t believe that tomorrow I will be heading back to Iowa, it’s a very bittersweet emotion. I’m ready to see my friends and family, but I know that I’m going to be leaving some amazing friends here in Kenya.

At times these past eight weeks have felt like they would last an entire year, but now that my time here is up it all seems like it went by way too fast. The lessons I have learned here at ILRI have also been invaluable and are something that I will remember for the rest of my life.

My supervisor and some fellow helping me with my project

Even though I am leaving I’m taking a part of Kenya and its culture back with me. The people of this wonderful country have taught me some truly valuable life lessons that I am not going to forget anytime soon. One of these lessons is that it’s alright to smile and say hello to someone you don’t know. Kenyans are extremely polite and kind. That’s one of the biggest things that I am going to miss when I leave this country.

A poor attempt at taking a selfie with some very tall camels

I’d like to again say thank you to everyone who has helped me to grow as a person this summer. This internship has been an amazing opportunity and I’m extremely grateful that it was given to me. I’d also like to thank ILRI for taking care of me and making sure that everything went as smoothly as possible. Finally, I’d like to thank my parents who have been extremely supportive and helped me every step of the way. One thing that I know for sure is that this has defintely been a summer to remember!

--

--