Until next time, Philippines

Priscilla Trinh
TheNextNorm
Published in
3 min readAug 12, 2019
IRRI grounds, walkway to UP Gate

I can say with confidence that I am winning the fight against jet lag. I’ve been up since 5 AM after going to bed at 1 AM, but am feeling quite alright.

My internship at IRRI has concluded and it is reluctantly that I return to the States, BUT my work is not finished at all.

Given the inconclusive PNOA, I will be focusing my research paper efforts on the Excel work I’ve done sporadically the past couple months. Using last year’s survey data, I have been analyzing for trends in Food Consumption Scores (FSC). This metric was put forth by the World Food Programme as a measurement of household-level dietary diversity, nutritional intake, and consumption frequency. There at least 9 food groups (cereals/grains, pulses, meat/fish, dairy, etc.) that are considered. To calculate the score, you multiply the frequency that each food group was consumed in the last week by the weight of each food group (to account for nutritional importance). Scores between 0-28 indicate “poor” consumption scores, 29-42 borderline, and >42 acceptable.

All of these demarcations were done last year by the previous BR intern, and this year, at the request of my supervisor, I looked specifically into brown/pigmented rice consumption in the Cordillera. Given my position in the Heirloom Rice Project, it would make sense to analyze the popularity of alternative rice consumption and see whether there is a correlation between that and nutritional health.

Noting whether brown/pigmented was consumed, the frequency, sourcing of rice, and FCS score of each household relative to their community (stem-leaf plots), I hope to construct a comprehensive view into the relationship between HR and food security, if there is any. Look out for further updates in October where I’ll be presenting the paper and research poster at the World Food Prize!

My last week in the Philippines was spent in Palawan as a touristy vacay with other interns from Illinois Wesleyan University and joyful gift-giving farewells. I am grateful beyond words for all the faculty and friends I’ve met, and am fairly certain I’ll return one day.

And thank you to all of YOU, the readers/clapper of my blogs and those who have lent support from home. And Crystal Harris, for publishing these and overseeing the whole program - your diligence is appreciated.

This isn't a farewell, only until next time, Philippines ~

……

Pictures from Puerto Princesa, Palawan

7th Wonder of the World, Underground River
Puerto Princesa city tour to historical landmarks
Island Hopping & beach day

--

--

Priscilla Trinh
TheNextNorm

2019 Borlaug-Ruan International Intern stationed at International Rice Research Institute in the Philippines. UMN ’22, studying Sustainable Systems Management.