Life is Sweet!

Kaci Ginn
TheNextNorm
Published in
3 min readJul 2, 2018

“Really all that matters is that one team has scored more goals than the other when the match is over.” This, my friends, was my first introduction to professional fútbol and my first experience taking part in the FIFA World Cup as a spectator. The 2018 FIFA World Cup was the first time in thirty six years that Peru had qualified, and the energy was electric throughout the campus for the two weeks that Peru was in the tournament. Everyone was sporting their red and white official Peru jerseys and decorating their offices. A TV even appeared in the cafeteria so people could watch the matches during their lunch breaks. Peru was unfortunately not able to come out on top of their first two matches, but they prevailed in their final match with Australia to win 2–0. Let me tell you — that was exhilarating!

My third full week at CIP consisted of improving my prowess in the lab and learning how to perform various analyses with fresh and freeze dried potato samples. Analyzing levels of Vitamin C, or ascorbic acid, in fresh potatoes was the primary task this week. My main task included creating the extraction solution out of three different chemicals and distilled water. I worked under a vent hood with a respirator because of the rating on the chemicals being used.

The rest of the process included everything from setting a standard curve for total levels of ascorbic acid, to properly slicing representative samples from the potatoes, and testing each sample four different times to ensure the correct Vitamin C levels were recorded.

If anybody was wondering — I can weigh out 50g of potato like nobody’s business!

On Saturday morning I set out to explore a little bit more of a neighboring district, Barranco. Barranco is a hip neighborhood with lots of color, character, and fun small shops as well as a vibrant art scene. While I was exploring the area I found an art gallery called MATE (pronounced mAH-teh).

Katherine Bernhardt’s MUNDO SANDÍA at MATE

“MATE — Museo Mario Testino is a not-for-profit centre established to contribute to Peru through the cultivation and promotion of culture and heritage.”

There is a permanent collection that includes Mario Testino’s photography, a gift shop, small cafe and a guest exhibit all in a beautifully restored 19th century Republican mansion. The guest exhibit, titled MUNDO SANDÍA (Watermelon World), by Katherine Bernhardt was my favorite. While at MATE I also perused the gift shop and enjoyed some really good macarons from the small cafe on site.

An outdoor mural from MUNDO SANDÍA

After I was finished at MATE I began to make my way back to Miraflores, but not before I found another, much smaller art gallery near the Bridge of Sighs, Jade Rivera. This art gallery featured photos of different street art and murals created by the artist that were located all around the world. A few small shops later I found my way to La Bodega Verde, a cafe featuring fresh fare and a super fun atmosphere. I spent some time there enjoying lunch and the free WiFi before making it the rest of the way back home.

A mural featured at JADE RIVERA

Kaci

--

--

Kaci Ginn
TheNextNorm

2018 Borlaug-Ruan International Intern, International Potato Center (CIP) in Lima, Peru