NDSU Student, Dieumerci Christel, Winner of NPR How I Built This Fellowship

Emily Elizabeth
The Nice Center
Published in
2 min readSep 17, 2019

NPR How I Built This Summit with Guy Raz, supported by American Express, will be taking place on October 22nd and 23rd in San Francisco at Yerba Buena Center for the Arts. NPR’s How I Built This Fellowship provides innovators, no matter what stage they’re in on their entrepreneurial journey, the chance to attend the Summit. The Summit gives new entrepreneurs from underrepresented communities the opportunity to network with growing professionals, listen to successful entrepreneur’s at main stage, and experience learning sessions run by significant entrepreneurs. Stewart Butterfield, of Slack, Sara Blakely, of Spanx, and Tariq Farid, of Edible Arrangements are just a few of the incredible main stage speakers scheduled to talk at the How I Built This Summit.

Dieumerci Christel, known as Chris, is the founder and creator of Enlight and a 2019 winner of NPR’s How I Built This Fellowship. Chris explains that Enlight is an “app that helps teachers become experts on their students. The more they know about their students the more effective they are.”

Diemerci Christel joins a handful of founders from around the country for the How I Built This Fellowship.

He explains: “We discovered what was called the too late effect — teachers have too many students so it takes too long for them to understand their students in order to build meaningful relationships.” So, the app helps jump start that relationship on the first day of school.

“I hope to learn a ton, meet awesome people, and be immersed in the face paced and beautiful world of Silicon Valley and learn as much I as I can so I can come back and share with my community.” — Dieumerci Christel

Chris says that the Fargo-Moorhead community has been an incredible resource for him and his entrepreneurial journey. “Fargo-Moorhead community has been my resource, backbone, and they’ve helped me get where I am today. Their continuous support has been amazing and I am so thankful for them. I could not be here if it wasn’t for the F-M community” comments Chris.

To learn more about NPR’s How I Built This Summit visit the website.

--

--