Mike Meyer
TheOtherLeft
Published in
2 min readDec 21, 2017

--

Where the holidays live . . .

Holiday time at the end of the mall

Once the route through stores

In search of gifts

For others and some for me

But now I realize that my life

Parallels the mall in America

Eastwood as a kid

Amazed at the department stores and shops

Even Sears, all in one place

Giant parking lots

No more city bus rides into town

Where the real department stores live

My first high school job at the mall

From Watson’s snack bar to

Stereos, washing machines, and records

The products show my age

And malls became the new department stores

Larger and more elaborate

Became the new city in the suburbs

The center of life with price tags on everything

Time to kill, go to the mall

Watching the new mall being built

Wheeling my first daughter’s stroller

Later she got lost at the mall but ended up at Penney s

Then Penney's disappeared, then Borders books,

and Borders disappeared, then Sports Authority,

Guess what happened, replaced with empty

Same mall

my granddaughter walking, holding my hand, crying

Hello Kitty fixed that

Malls in Burbank, Atlanta, Dallas, Seattle, Honolulu

Back in Indianapolis where I started there are only malls

The city, downtown became a mall

The home mall now three times as big

Holiday time with fewer decorations

Things have changed

So many more textures

Subtle colors

Small trees with a beautiful diversity of people

Now the malls are waiting with an elaborate sadness

Amazon owns the air

Malls are earth

But people want to fly

Where do the holidays go?

--

--

Mike Meyer
TheOtherLeft

Writer, Educator, Campus CIO (retired) . Essays on our changing reality here, news and more at https://rlandok.substack.com/