Art by Kendall Brewer

I’m Talking About The Moment When

Kendall Brewer
The Pensive Post
Published in
1 min readMar 18, 2017

--

We glimpse behind the curtain of someone else’s painted performance and realize that everyone might actually be as misshapen and masked as we know ourselves to be;

I see their faces and feel a sneaking guilt, for the resentment I’ve felt towards the lives of those seemingly without pain, only to realize that their suffering is hidden just like mine, like ours, and I wasn’t even looking for it;

I ignore people more than I should, but I try to pry my eyes open, and I watch them in airports, on planes; Who are you, What have you done, What do you regret; You can see it in some people’s eyes.

It is an overwhelming task, to attempt to grasp the depth of a single human being, let alone seven billion and

Perhaps that is why we remain ignorant; if every person held on to the collective human consciousness,

the world would be a schizophrenic demon.

--

--