This Is What I Fear

Delaney Russell
The Pensive Post
Published in
2 min readFeb 10, 2017

1.

I watch my dad play the role of mixologist at the kitchen counter

Measuring out grey goose, pomegranate juice, and tonic water

Like a young bachelor, only 60 years old.

This role carries into his notebook.

In them he mixes words: stirs in metaphor and consonance, adding rhyme scheme to taste.

He loves to share his work,

whether he is passing out drinks to my mom and me,

or reading his most recent work to a crowd

My dad will not be silenced.

2.

I watch my mom dress herself in trendy purples

Wearing earrings in her second set of pierced holes,

Like a young trendsetter, now 57.

Her evolving and stylish ways extend into her piano studio at home.

She moved her Baby Grand from one room to another,

reordering the furniture and

updating the space just as she updates her life,

smiling in the face of each new day with ideas to spare.

There is no box that could hold my mom.

3.

I think my parents designed our house to be open

And organized our lives so we could feel alive

I might be wrong.

All I know is that light seems to flow in the windows 24 hours a day

And only when I am sitting between them at the kitchen table,

Or laying between them in their bed

Do I not fear aging.

4.

My grandpa is dying.

He had a stroke.

His authoritative presence in the house kept my grandma,

his sole companion, from calling an ambulance for 12 hours.

For 12 hours, she sat by his side, worried but still.

Even with his left side numb,

Confined to a reclining position in their bed,

My grandpa’s voice alone overpowered my grandma’s will to get help.

5.

I am aware of my voice.

I listen to the way it rises when I am excited, and falls when I am unsure

Track the correlation between how my words are received

and how the next batch is delivered.

I monitor my content.

I wish I could say that I will always be fluid.

That I will design my home to be open

Fill my failed attempts and cracked plans with air and light

Dress in my favorite colors well into my 50s

pick up hobbies like I pick up the words to my favorite rap songs

But I don’t know.

When I am alone, I fear aging.

I worry that one day

My voice will not be loud enough

Or soft enough to save my life.

--

--