Two-Faced

Katee Fletcher
The Pensive Post
1 min readFeb 11, 2018

--

You cover your face.

Apricot soft pillow

cushions your headache head.

“Don’t look at me.”

I peel the pillow away

and reveal you(r)

fruit

punch eye;

soft sockets stained with

strawberry juice…

a hint of blueberry.

Swelled up like sweet plums

and popped —

Tears fall from

crunchy eyelashes.

I know you’re in pain.

Drape my arms

around your

peachy cuts to comfort.

Body riddled with soft spots,

and breaking

with my indentation.

Your(e) soft

skin ripe with fear

of the bruises on your body.

Questioning whether

they will sink

their teeth into you again,

but they will.

And I can’t save you(r)

sweetness.

Their gnawing teeth grazing

til core is exposed.

Your plump body hollowed

by dangerous desires;

comments spat through

crooked teeth,

cut you.

And your(e) rotten

brain letting cruelty

hydrate your heart like water.

Pesticide nourishment

feeding you falsely.

Healing the physical

with raspberry kisses rinsed

in your cold sweat

on your watermelon swelling.

I don’t recognize

you(r)

face anymore.

--

--