Cousin

Andrew Kamal
ThePoeticPharaoh
Published in
2 min readJul 14, 2023
Photo by Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash

Hey cousin

Remember me?

Yeah I know you do

I used to look up to you

Well not anymore

I see the way you look at me

And I know you want nothing to do with me

But that’s okay though

I guess people learn and grow

Your sister hates me too

And so does her husband

When I was 12, he randomly told me to stay away from his kids

Family reunions are always awkward though

Wonder where have I been the last few years?

Can’t the man learn to take a joke?

Remember when my life was falling apart?

What did your sister say to me?

Your whole family was there too

Cousin

Know I used to look up to you

You said I went to a Mickey Mouse university

Remember when I tried asking you for business advice?

Even when working, you shut the door on me

That’s funny, but look at me now

There was this girl I truly loved

You could have helped me

You knew her

But I learned to never ask for help from you

I guess I may have watched her leave on my own

What’s funny though is

Some random dudes ask you for help from the church

You’re Mr.righteous

You immediately go out of your way mentoring

Your own family though

No

I guess I am a loser to you

Cousin

What’s up with the way you look at me?

Mad embarrassed

Okay I see how it is

What is it?

You moved up to management

And now think you’re Mr. bigshot

Brag to the whole world about your success

But forget where you came from

Cousin

Half the church seem so surprised we are even related

You tell me I’m great now and doing this and that

Then how come you disassociate?

Well I guess it's for the best

You wiped the floor with me

Made a mockery out of me

You didn’t even notice

Your ego was so big that if I jumped from the top to the bottom

I would fall to my doom

Does any of this even concern you?

Cousin

--

--

Andrew Kamal
ThePoeticPharaoh

The dude with many different talents *Coder *Inventor *Startup Advisor *Coptic Activist *Sponsored Athlete *Blogger *Conservative *Researcher *Miaphysite