Liar

Andrew Kamal
ThePoeticPharaoh
Published in
2 min readAug 3, 2023
Photo by Eleonora Francesca Grotto on Unsplash

Liar

Well they say the devil is the father of all lies

Look what he did to me

Look what he did to the world

He is snarky and mean

And plays tricks on the mind

Until you don’t trust yourself

Oh, what a shame

Look at me

Did I actually do enough with my life

Sitting here complaining

God forgive me

I know God respects free will

Tongue is easy to tame

Mind wonders

And thoughts go places they aren’t supposed to

I look at myself in the mirror

I hate myself

Liar

I know I got greatness inside of me

I’m self-made

Liar

I rely on others

Okay

And I don’t care what others say about me, I’m confident

Liar

I feel dumb

Mind is clouded

I’m fixated on everybody and every little thing

Scared of the real me

Thoughts are intrusive

Okay

At least I honor and respect my parents

I genuinely help them throughout my life

Liar

Sometimes it feels like I didn’t do enough

Like I am not enough and an embarrassment

I get lost in research and my work

I don’t give me creative side enough time to flourish

Okay

But at least I chase greatness over pleasing people

Liar

I am not socially naive anymore

And I will never give another chance to some people who hurt me really bad

Liar

Okay

Truth is I barely respect myself

Sometimes I’m afraid of what it is like to be loved

I know I have God’s love

But my faith is little

I act like it is not enough sometimes

Okay

But I’m fully okay with not getting married and not having children

Liar

I’m contempt with being alone

Liar

I like the idea of having many Andrew Jrs running around

Okay

Look

Nobody is perfect

Liar

Okay Christ is perfect

But we can never reach that

He is God

Instead of being too fixated on riches and people

I need to set my mind on the narrower path

Maybe soon I can have a wife

Be Andrew the great

But how can I expect God to bless me

If I’m not doing enough for myself

Worried

Stressed

And not always on the right path

--

--

Andrew Kamal
ThePoeticPharaoh

The dude with many different talents *Coder *Inventor *Startup Advisor *Coptic Activist *Sponsored Athlete *Blogger *Conservative *Researcher *Miaphysite