Mom and Dad

Andrew Kamal
ThePoeticPharaoh
Published in
2 min readAug 4, 2023
Photo by Dvir Adler on Unsplash

Mom and Dad

Father and Mother

There is something I have to say

I’m sorry

My mind is a bit clouded

I know I deserve what I get

Embarrassing

A burden

Cunning

Selfish

Spoiled

Deceitful

Ungodly

A major annoyance

These are words that seem to thoroughly describe me

I know I’m made in God’s image

But am unhappy with who I have become

That’s why when I stare at myself in the bathroom

And look at the mirror

I feel like vomiting

Then tripping on the vomit and bashing my head

It is a metaphor

Don’t bash your head

But I got so much sadness

Anguish and anger inside

One time when I was young

I made my family late

To driving us to school

A drunk driver crashed through the car right in front of ours

Man that could have been me that is dead by that driver

There were so many times God

I wanted my life to be over

But you loved me

When I had barely any love to give

Even the people that hate me at church

Or laugh at me

I don’t expect any apology

Because I deserve far worse

Look at me

A foolish man who reveals all his feelings

Mom and Dad

I know I cause you anguish

Sometimes it feels like having hope in me is like catching falling knives

I made your life difficult

I made it a burden

I was given a set of basic instructions

The bear minimum and I did the opposite

Have you ever seen in your life

Somebody like me

Mom, I know why you did what you did

At that one so called church

That one place

It is all my fault

Look at my other family even

Deep down I know that they don’t respect me

I feel like a clown

A joke indeed

Imagine if everybody was like me

The stubborn child

The grown man child

I could be better

I could be edifying myself

Mom and Dad

Is this what you wanted

--

--

Andrew Kamal
ThePoeticPharaoh

The dude with many different talents *Coder *Inventor *Startup Advisor *Coptic Activist *Sponsored Athlete *Blogger *Conservative *Researcher *Miaphysite