Photo by Agence Producteurs Locaux Damien Kühn on Unsplash

“阿姨好,我的媽媽想給你們我們家裡種的菜。”

xine way 🌟
thepursuitofcweiziness
2 min readJul 25, 2018

--

Startled more by the fact that this little girl had just called me “Auntie” in Chinese, I took the bag of vegetables she was carrying and stuttered a quick “Thank you” and flashed her a quick smile.

She stood there as if she wasn’t quite sure what to do with herself before turning around and heading home.

I’d been gaming the whole morning, the only person in an empty house. So when someone rang the doorbell, I didn’t immediately answer the door, thinking it’d be a salesperson or something. If it was a package, I’d pick it up later.

But whoever it was kept ringing the doorbell. Persistently.

So I felt like it was strange. Until I was face to not-face (she’s a lot smaller than I am) with my 8 or 9 year old neighbor from next door.

Her parents have been tending this garden in their backyard. Out of neighborly goodwill, I suppose they felt like it’d be nice to give us some extra vegetables. Very kind of them to do so.

I think what struck me the most besides this act of kindness is being addressed as an “阿姨” instead of “姐姐.”

It’s weird transitioning into adulthood.

I’m still not exactly a full fledged adult. I’m still living with my parents.

Once, I tried toasting a sandwich, and it caught on fire in the toaster oven.

Once, I tried making spaghetti and it was undercooked to the point of crunchiness.

Once, I tried using the laundry machine in a hotel room and wound up with weirdly colored, nice smelling clothes.

Once, I tried making ramen and the water overflowed across the entire stove.

And I can’t count the number of times I’ve just walked into tables or forgot to do the dishes until they piled high in the sink.

But I know I’m at an age where younger kids see me as an adult and older adults see me as an overgrown kid.

I honestly don’t see much of a distinction between them sometimes. There are some very wise kids and very foolish adults.

(Me being one of the foolish ones, naturally.)

I guess I’ll have to get used to it. I’m no longer an “older sister” figure but an “auntie.”

Dear god. I’m getting older.

--

--

xine way 🌟
thepursuitofcweiziness

Aspiring librarian who writes, games, and walks on the side. Always happy to connect with writers on Medium!