Do you ever really move on?

The photo above was taken at my Valentine’s Day dinner with my current boyfriend.

This post is dedicated to my ex, though.

Sometimes there are songs or moments when I’ll think back to him. Wonder how he is. Wonder if I ever cross his mind.

I was listening to some EDM and thought back to the music we listened to when we were dating.

We broke up 9 years ago. Time has made it easier to relive those memories, but that breakup is still a sore spot for me.

He visits my dreams occasionally. I dream of ways we could fix our brokenness during the time we dated. I dream of words unsaid, of lives unlived.

Is there a way to fully move on after you break up with someone?

Maybe.

Only time will tell.

--

--

xine way 🤷🏻‍♀️
thepursuitofcweiziness

Aspiring librarian who writes, games, and walks on the side. Always happy to connect with writers on Medium!