My #1 Money-Saving Strategy

Because targeted ads have ruined my finances 👀

xine way 🌟
thepursuitofcweiziness
1 min readFeb 14, 2023

--

I found a way to save hundreds of dollars.

Essentially, it’s limiting social media usage.

Facebook and Instagram know what I like. They show me things I love, like fancy book club subscriptions (I used to be in the same book club as Malala) and other book subscriptions.

Those cost hundreds of dollars. Over $600, to be exact. I had Book of the Month, Page 1 Books, and Literati. All of these were completely unnecessary, but the social media sites knew what I craved.

When I decided to start crocheting, I gave Woobles probably over $200 in two months.

I was spending abnormal amounts of money for things I didn’t really need.

So what’s worked for me is staying away from those platforms.

I post, but I don’t scroll as much as I used to.

This one strategy has saved me hundreds of dollars.

Who knows, maybe living life off social media has its benefits! 😛

--

--

xine way 🌟
thepursuitofcweiziness

Aspiring librarian who writes, games, and walks on the side. Always happy to connect with writers on Medium!