What I’m learning from playing Baldur’s Gate 3

Reaping the positive effects of play

xine way 🌟
thepursuitofcweiziness

--

Image from here

After some finagling, my boyfriend and I were finally able to purchase Baldur’s Gate 3 to play together.

It’s supposed to be the video game version of Dungeons and Dragons, and it’s engrossing, to say the least.

You’re transported to a fantasy world, unlike anything you may ever know or dream of. It’s escapism at its finest, and you have to use your brain to solve some of the puzzles (or know how to Google it and figure out the answers). But in the meantime, there’s a growing cast of characters with distinct personalities, and the ability to personalize your character and have it appear in the cut scenes is astonishing.

When I played with my boyfriend, it felt amazing. We were exploring new worlds together with certain skills that, used strategically, helped us advance in the storyline. There are so many details to it that make me in awe of those who designed the gameplay.

It’s really quite incredible, what they’ve done here. And I’m sure I’ll have more to share when we play more of the storyline. But hey — video games aren’t time-wasters necessarily if you feel as though they’re making your life better, right?

--

--

xine way 🌟
thepursuitofcweiziness

Aspiring librarian who writes, games, and walks on the side. Always happy to connect with writers on Medium!