6 Skills That Will Help Any Therapist Crush a Job in Tech

Ann Dypiangco, LCSW
Therapists in Tech
Published in
4 min readNov 22, 2022

What tech company wouldn’t want employees who excel at high-level thinking, effective communication, and relationship building?

Photo by Jason Goodman on Unsplash

Over the past 10 months, I have been exploring career options outside of my role as a psychotherapist, my profession for the past 15 years. Like many therapists, I’m burnt out on direct client care. I want to spread my wings and explore helping people in other ways.

In the midst of preparing for this career transition, I have been spending time exploring my professional past to determine what I can offer in my next role.

It’s becoming more and more clear to me that a therapist’s training affords us skills that help us contribute a great deal to a company’s success. Therapists often have high emotional intelligence (EQ) and soft skills. We are usually amazing listeners and possess self-awareness to a fault. Examples of this can include knowing how to modulate our tone during emotionally heightened interactions, automatically mirroring our words and body language to build trust, and even yawning without opening our mouths so as to not offend. These actions are as ingrained in us as much as our desire to create productive and safe working relationships, and are essential not only in the therapy office, but in other settings as well. Here are 6 examples of these skills in action:

Project Management- We create client treatment plans that serve as deliverables to mark success. Each plan consists of specifically-formulated goals and actionable steps and is evaluated and updated as new information is received. We break down large, long-term goals into smaller tasks and bring in outside, adjunctive support when necessary. This means we research and network to find the help that will be the best fit for desired outcomes and budget. To ensure success, we identify internal and external barriers to achieving goals and facilitate structured problem-solving around them. Simultaneously, we are working with payors and billing companies to ensure timely payment.

Effective Communication- We know how to explain complex concepts in easy-to-understand ways, tailored to the audience. When information may be emotionally difficult to receive, we know how to soften the blow. Likewise, we are trained to receive feedback and set boundaries with a professional demeanor.

Photo by HamZa NOUASRIA on Unsplash

High-Level Thinking- We are trained to focus on complex understanding at a high level, as well as identify missing pieces of information to complete puzzles. We develop case formulation by holding multiple theories and concepts in mind while gathering information from weekly reports and educating ourselves on related issues outside of session. This information helps guide a long-term vision so we don’t lose sight of the ultimate goals by getting caught up in the day-to-day.

Strengths-based- We can find a more positive point of view on any situation. This skill can be a boon for team morale. It can also be incredibly useful when looking for creative solutions for public relations and marketing hang-ups.

Relationship Building- Relationships are what therapists do best. We promote trust in relationships through assertive communication, consistent action, and positive regard for the people we work with. We keep things confidential as a rule and prioritize building trust in all relationships. This skill is key for any position and is especially important when working on cross-functional projects.

Sales- Therapists are some of the best salespeople around. We regularly sell things that are incredibly difficult to buy. This includes:

  • Sobriety
  • Self-compassion
  • Self-care practices, like daily meditation, journaling, and exercise
  • Facing one’s traumas and fears head-on.

If someone isn’t ready to buy right now, we keep the conversation going with no judgment. It’s all about relationship and trust-building, the cornerstone of making sales.

As I reflect back on my career, I am so grateful for my past clinical experiences that have helped me hone these professional skills. I don’t know where I will end up in my next steps, but I do know that no matter where that is, my clinical training will have prepared me well. I hope more therapists will be inspired to also apply their skills broadly as well. Most of us entered the therapeutic field to create positive change in the world, and there are many ways we can continue to work toward this goal.

Ann Dypiangco, LCSW is a psychotherapist exploring the intersection of Web3 and mental health. You can connect with her on Twitter, LinkedIn, or at www.wellnessinweb3.io.

--

--

Ann Dypiangco, LCSW
Therapists in Tech

My name is Ann. I’m a psychotherapist exploring the intersection of mental health and Web3. My articles are NOT medical advice.