Image found via https://medicine.utah.edu/radiology/education/technologist/programs/mri

MRIs: A Recipe for Re-Traumatization?

Sarah Jacob, LCSW
Therapy Works
Published in
3 min readJan 30, 2024

--

In this article, I will detail my latest MRI procedure so please take care of yourself as you continue to read.

As someone who has worked with trauma survivors, specifically survivors of sexual trauma, my brain has been trained to notice how the world moves and where to change aspects to enhance safety and create trauma-informed experiences.

MRIs: Do they have to be so non-trauma informed?

A medical procedure meant to provide clarity is in reality giving us panic for 20–30 minutes. If you have never had an MRI, I hope this article finds you because you will at least have a sense of what to expect- which enhances one of the qualities of trauma-informed care: trustworthiness. A sense of what to expect assists with transparency and predictability, which allows our brain to feel a sense of safety.

I believe receiving an MRI cultivates the opposite of a sense of safety- it was full of panic and uncertainty. They give you a panic button in case you cannot finish the exam. A PANIC BUTTON!

My main question is: if a medical procedure where you must be conscious to partake in, gives you a panic button, is this truly the only way to administer such an important medical exam? Is there a way for the world of medicine to create a safer and more trauma-informed experience?

My experience began with undressing in a closet, entering a frigid room with the machine, and being told to lay on my stomach. The technician told me the length of exam would take about 20–30 minutes and specifically said, “Make sure you do not move or we will have to restart”. He proceeded to give me earplugs and informed me these were because of how loud it would be — does it really need to be this loud?! Fast forward to the process of lying face down holding my panic button. Without any clear site of the technician, the door, nor a clock, I was then surrounded by creaking, sawing, and jackhammer noises. After what seemed like forever, I was told the exam was over.

After my exam, I communicated my experience and these thoughts to a couple of friends, all of whom knew exactly what I was talking about. Getting an MRI is not a unique experience. The majority of people in my life have had one and all know what I am talking about when I say, “It was terrible, I cannot imagine what it would be like if I were in recovery for PTSD.”

I could not help but think about the ACE quiz while holding these thoughts. “An ACE score is a tally of different types of abuse, neglect, and other hallmarks of a rough childhood. According to the Adverse Childhood Experiences study, the rougher your childhood, the higher your score is likely to be and the higher your risk for later health problems,” quotes an NPR article on ACEs written by Laura Starecheski.

If those with high ACE scores due to greater experiences of trauma, neglect, and abuse lead to higher health problems — wouldn’t this result in a greater use of MRI technology?

The number one goal in beginning to treat an individual recovering from trauma is to provide cues of safety. These cues are usually built through moments of transparency, predictability, reliability, and reinforcing their sense of agency. However, the MRI experience is the opposite of promoting physical, psychological, and emotional safety. There were seemingly zero cues of safety in my experience and therefore, this leads me to believe receiving an MRI is a recipe for re-traumatization for a trauma survivor.

However, does this procedure have to be so non-trauma-informed? I believe adding visual, auditory, and physical cues of safety would lead to more equitable use of the technology for trauma survivors. These methods could include a clock within sight, access to a microphone to speak to the tech administering the test, and finding a way to decrease the sound inside the claustrophobic atmosphere of an MRI machine.

These proposed solutions while administering an MRI could then play a pivotal role in preventing re-traumatization. Let’s be real- the reason you are receiving an MRI is because you are in pain or there is a concern. Here’s to eliminating one less concern to worry about.

--

--