There Are No Words – September 2

Labour Day Weekend

Julian Sammy
There Are No Words
3 min readSep 6, 2016

--

The Labour Day weekend has been a whirlwind of events for the family, including family arriving from Norway, learning to play Pokémon GO, visiting Buskerfest, a trip to the Toronto Zoo with friends, and a trip to visit cousins. I’m compiling this on Tuesday September 6th as I didn’t really have time (or energy) to do it while parenting and eventing.

On September 1st, Livé’s grandmother arrived from Norway, along with three of her close friends. Livé called them the Bestas (Norwegian for ‘grandmother).

2016.09.02 – Golf, Nap, Pokémon GO

Estimated Energy Budget: 60¢

On Friday the six women (Livé’s moms and the Bestas took off for a weekend in Niagara Falls. I picked up Livé from her golf camp a little before noon and scampered off to the moms’ place to collect supplies for the weekend.

Only a few days later, and I find my memories of Friday and Saturday blurred together. Livé and I played Pokémon GO for the first time on Friday afternoon and night though.

We were reviewing the captured Pokémon while sitting outside on the yellow bench.

2015.09.02 – Doctor, Family, Movie

I didn’t post to TANW in Facebook today, but my calendar shows three events:

10:15AM Dr. T (family GP)

Dr. T is a nice person who did her best in ordering appropriate tests and so on to figure out what was going on with my breathing. This was our first appointment post-dissection. I recall her being anxious and feeling terrible that she’d missed my cancer. I didn’t blame her then, and I don’t blame her now. If anything I think I should have gone back to the ENT much sooner. It was a good visit though. IIRC Kathleen took me to the appointment.

2:00PM Maryse and Matt

My cousin Michael (mom’s eldest brother’s son) has two daughters. The older one, Maryse, is in university, but was still at home for the summer. She came for a visit with her boyfriend, Matt, before heading back to school.

We had a nice visit. I think explaining how my voice and so on worked had already become fairly routine by this point. We talked about life and school and so on, and got to know Matt a bit. It was a very nice visit.

6:50PM Ant Man

This is in my calendar for last year, but I’m pretty sure I didn’t have the energy to go out that evening. IIRC we rented the movie when it came out on Google Play and watched it at home. The Doctor visit and family visit were enough for one day.

--

--

Julian Sammy
There Are No Words

Personal Principles - evidence trumps experience - performance over perfection - responsibility – authority = scapegoat - emotions motivate; data doesn't