Work that Matters

Nick Jordan
Next Matters Most
Published in
3 min readSep 24, 2020

--

When times are crazy, find something important to work on. That is my strategy to help stay focused and committed to the bigger picture.

I am working on something important.

Are you? If so, what are you working on right now? How are you improving your business, yourself, and/or your family? Let me just back up for a hot minute. We live in crazy times. See my disclaimer at the bottom of the article. It is maddening, horrifying, embarrassing, depressing, and many more emotions all at the same time and non stop. To get through it, I just started talking…. talking with peer groups, mentors, friends, family, and inwardly talking with myself. After all that, I realized that focusing on important shit was what would give me the ability to succeed and maintain my own well being and my sanity. This time in history, in my opinion, is a great accelerator and has had a great focusing effect. If you aren’t working on what matters most to you now then it’s time to rethink your strategy.

For me, I am thinking about community, ecosystem design, and leadership.

Community

What is important to me is our community, and the role of business, and my business (Smashing Boxes) in that community. Community is defined as our tech community…

--

--

Nick Jordan
Next Matters Most

Entrepreneur, Founder of @Smashingboxes (www.smashingboxes.com), mobile and web agency. Creator of @NextMattersMost . Community Builder.