Jasmine Recollet

Socent7
2 min readOct 19, 2016

--

Founder, Native Lengths

Native Lengths is a shampoo that is infused with vitamins and cedar. The vitamins make your hair strong and healthy that it shines. The cedar is a traditional medicine that Anishnaabek used for many years to cleanse away negative energy and offer protection to ones spirit. Native Lengths was created to build awareness around the traditional knowledge about the Anishnaabe culture using the holistic approach.

I was inspired to do this because I found myself surrounded by death and trauma throughout my university years. My cousin Cherise Owl-baa had passed away into the spirit world. We had a traditional Ojibway ceremony for her. Family members cut off their long braid to honor her spirit; short hair represents a great loss of a loved one in the Ojibway culture. When your hair grows back that means the grieving process is complete and you become balanced again.

Through out my years in university I used the four traditional healing medicines and smudging to clear away any negative energy. This really seemed to help me, so I had created Native Lengths. I become sharing more in my community by supporting the youth drum group, and organizing water walks in Sault Ste. Marie. I grew a passion in working with youth, that I became the youth representative for the Indian Friendship Centre. I strive to live a good life “Mino Bimaadozwin”, but I know first hand at times it is hard when you’re struck by death and trauma. There is an alarming high rate of First Nation suicides. To overcome suicide rates and trauma, I have created Native Lengths to empower youth through mentorship,, culture, language, and education.

Jasmine is a participant in the Hook It Up program delivered by Socent7. Hook It Up is a support program for young social entrepreneurs in Ontario. Learn more at www.hookitup.ca.

**END OF PROGRAM UDPATE** Jasmine was able to invest in equipment and supplies to increase her inventory and grow her sales. Her message to other young entrepreneurs: “It is a lot of work, but once you develop your resources and your passion is ignited it is such an fulfilling feeling.”

--

--

Socent7

Socent7 is a collective of seven Ontario initiatives. We collaborate to develop infrastructure to support young social entrepreneurs.