How a rainbow sticker chart could help your child make healthy eating choices

Elizabeth Rust
The recipe swap
Published in
5 min readDec 8, 2021

--

Helen Burgess believes that the food we eat influences our health and wellbeing, with children, especially, needing the right nourishment to grow and develop into healthy adults. But because we have so much ‘convenience food’ at our finger tips, we’ve forgotten the basics of cooking. That’s why in 2017, she set up Little Cooks cooking kits for kids with the aim of getting families back into the kitchen cooking delicious and nutritious meals together.

Helen, as a busy working mother, you must understand that we can’t always find time to cook with our children, but why should we make the time?

We all know that there’s a childhood obesity crisis. The stats just keep going in the wrong direction. I’ve always been passionate about nutrition, so after I had my son I quit my UK government job at the prime minister’s office and retrained to become a nutritionist. What I’ve seen and what research shows is that children who cook more tend to eat more fruit and vegetables. Even if they don’t always act on it, the knowledge about how to make healthy eating choices is there. I also believe that cooking with your children creates happy…

--

--

Elizabeth Rust
The recipe swap

Send me your recipes. I’ll do my best to create them to feed my hungry family