Waste less this Christmas, eat roast chicken

Elizabeth Rust
The recipe swap
Published in
6 min readNov 26, 2021

--

Rebecca Wilson is as friendly and chatty as I thought she’d be as we spoke on a dreary English morning. Full of ideas on how to involve “little ones” in the kitchen at Christmas, we somehow veer off from that topic and start discussing why we should eat roast chicken instead of turkey during the holidays.

Rebecca’s Roast Dinner with all the trimmings including

“If you’re not feeding a large family, there can be a lot of waste, because even the smallest turkey can still be quite big,” she says. What Rebecca suggests instead is buying the best chicken you can, like a cornfed free-range one, and then treating it exactly in the same way you would a turkey by adding lots of fat to it.

It’s so much more economical, because even the smallest turkey is still quite expensive in comparison to a chicken, she adds. “Who’s really going to know the difference anyways? Everyone will just think you made a really delicious piece of meat.” And while the American in me doesn’t fully agree, I love turkey, I can appreciate her suggestion.

Rebecca is behind the popular Instagram channel @rebeccawilsonfood where she shares her family friendly recipes with her over 480,000 followers. She launched the channel after discovering…

--

--

Elizabeth Rust
The recipe swap

Send me your recipes. I’ll do my best to create them to feed my hungry family