Humor/Music

Musical Anhedonia: The Inability to Derive Pleasure From Music!!!!!

I May Have Had an Encounter With an Extra-Terrestrial: There’s a Song For That!

Robin Sherman
There’s a Song For That!
5 min readFeb 7, 2024

--

Can’t Hear You Nick Offerman GIF by Gunpowder and Sky on Giphy.com

If you are not yet a Medium.com member, follow this LINK to read the full story for free then consider joining for access to thousands of quality articles and stories.

Click here to receive and email whenever Robin Sherman publishes.

The problem with small talk is that it’s just that, Small. It lacks substance and generally wastes more time than it’s worth. However, when necessary, I will indulge to maintain appearances and the peace.

My go-to small talk subject, because of it’s universality, is music. “What is your favorite song? Who is your favorite band? and Do you play any instruments?” are my top three questions for how they fast-track to deeper conversations. A favorite song or genre can identify personality types and the ability to play music allows my small-talk partner opportunity to open up and talk more about themselves.

A couple decades ago, I was trapped, for lack of better phrase, conversing with a total stranger while mutual friends were busy elsewhere. I smiled and began with the favorite song question. To my chagrin, the short answer was…

--

--

Robin Sherman
There’s a Song For That!

Adulthood delayed for decades as a DJ, Musician, and Comedian. Enjoy my Publications: There's a Song for That, Virtual Crate Digger, & Figments and Fragments.