Editing

Theresa Gaffney
Theresa Gaffney’s Portfolio
4 min readJun 29, 2020

More about my work as a copy and content editor, as well as how my background as an educator has contributed to my overall approach.

TED Conferences

I have worked with TED since the summer of 2022 to plan, create and send the TED Talks Daily newsletter. This Newsletter Editor position brings together my editorial and marketing experiences well, allowing me to craft targeted messaging around TED’s impactful content.

Esports/Gaming Editing

I was fortunate to be an Afrika Esports mentor covering my career as writer and editor in esports, and melding it with my current passion for mental health education. I presented one session on esports mental wellness: “Esports Education | Esports Mental Health, Gaming Therapy, and Esports Journalism” [watch]

Collegiate Starleague

I consider myself lucky to have been a part of the developing esports landscape over the past decade. In that time, I’ve worked with the Collegiate Starleague in their content department and have had the opportunity to grow from staff writer and assistant editor in the StarCraft 2 division to Editor in Chief of all content by mid-2013.

Typical content calendar

This has given me a unique look at the growth cycle of a digital news outlet from the ground up. It’s especially given me the chance to develop a sense of style for esports that can be applied to any online publication; one that balances deep analysis with creative hooks and still manages to be crafted with maximum audience visibility in mind. For samples, visit cstarleague.com to view content up to August 2018.

Joyride (Kiwi, Inc. app)

For almost two years, I worked with Kiwi to develop content for a mobile gaming app called Joyride. Joyride began as a trivia-centric platform with live hosts and interactive video chat rooms, but quickly grew into a multi-game experience. I wrote new trivia, dating game, and pricing game content, while also editing the work of other freelancers to fact-check encourage entertaining tone, and to ensure a consistent branded style. Joyride ceased operations in December 2019.

SlashShout

From November 2019–June 2020, I worked with an esports startup called SlashShout while the company entered the esports landscape and worked through articulating future goals. I began as a copywriter for their weekly newsletters focused on esports news, and eventually transitioned into the role of managing editor for the news website extension. I worked with three freelance writers, publishing a minimum of 15 unique pieces a week, with video additions on YouTube. The SlashShout company has since shifted focus to other ventures, but you can review past content at slashshout.com.

Educational Editing

My work in esports has largely focused on bringing esports to a collegiate audience. The most appealing aspect of working with CSL, Harrisburg University, and Messiah College has been their equally firm stances on the value of a higher education. I have a license to teach on the secondary education level (Social Studies) and have also taught on the college level, so providing access to learning is a part of my overall work ethos.

In my time as an as an assistant professor of English in Seoul, South Korea, I learned a great deal about developing educational content. At the Cyber University of Foreign Studies, I was able to create and edit assessments, in-class worksheets, online course materials, and journal publications. With this background, I feel equally comfortable in an educational environment as I do a digital news outlet.

Above: A sample of an online Business English class written and filmed in December 2015. For more work history, visit my LinkedIn profile.

--

--