THE REVIEWS EPISODE 6: DOKI DOKI LITERATURE CLUB PART 2

“Would you ever believe games have easter eggs?”

HexagonCube
THE REVIEWS
Published in
7 min readJan 7, 2018

--

It’s 2018, guys. New year, new me. I have already told you from Episode 5 I’d be playing the game and I’d be telling you on the mechanics and shit. Well, here I am.

This is going to be a short episode, because I’ve already explained the game in details. I’m just gonna tell you here how to get the bad and good ending, as well as some trivia and some easter eggs.

If you haven’t read my review for this game, go ahead and click away from this. You should read it before reading this.

SPOILER ALERT

I start up my game. And of course, the warning pops up. I press I agree. I mean, how am I supposed to continue to play this if I don’t press that button?

Okay, they told me to name my character.

I am talking to Sayori about her being slow and joining a club. I agree and joined it. There are four girls in it: Sayori, Yuri, Natsuki and Monika.

So I talked for a while, and a poem mini-game was shown for me to play. Since I’m playing for the bad ending, I could just randomly pick words out.

So after the mini-game, I get to hang out with Yuri and her books. We all share our poems and there goes the mini-game again.

Now after that game again, I showed my poem to the same four girls. Yuri liked it the most, and we get more scenes with her.

Mini game is shown third time, and now Sayori doesn’t read my poem, but the other three does. I get to help Yuri at the festival. That’s great.

I confessed my feelings to Sayori. I said I liked her. And she was happy and fine. The next day Sayori didn’t wake up, or so I thought. I ran to school to find out Sayori’s weird poem. I rushed to her home, only to find out she hung herself. Then the game gets glitchy.

So we play it for the second time. This time, full of glitches. Mini-game has long words. Some secret poems get your eyesight red (in the game). Cool. You have Natsuki fucking breaking her neck, Yuri stabbing herself after you confessed your feelings to her. When Monika sees that Natsuki is disgusted by the dead Yuri, Monika decides to delete them both.

The game starts for a third time, with you and Monika in a room. She tells you she changed the files and shit. You have to manually delete her file from the game directory to continue.

Monika realizes she’s wrong and she places back the other three in. Good job. But now Sayori knows what you have done. She becomes overprotective or some shit, wanting to have you forever. In the end Monika deleted her and the game. The credits rolled, Monika plays her song and some scenes shown were in black and white, which were deleted by the game itself. Monika then gave a letter to us, saying that the Literature Club “corrupt innocent minds” and it is disbanded.

So obviously, that’s the bad ending. There is however a good ending.

But you have to reinstall the game, because if you try to start it up from the bad ending, they would say “script.rpy” is missing. And that prevents you from playing.

I start the game afresh again. This time, every mini-game, I picked words according to the favorites of Sayori, Yuri and Natsuki. Each time I go through their scenes, before I witness Sayori’s death, I have to save the game and play a new game.

After witnessing all three different scenes with three different people, you can continue on the normal game. You see Sayori dead, the game glitches and after everything, the credits started showing every scene in full color. Plus after the credits, Dan Salvato, creator of the game, gave us a letter to say thank-you for playing his game and fully completing it.

That’s all for the gameplay. Here’s some trivia.

  • There’s a mod for this game. It’s called Monika After Story. You can talk to Monika now. And this happens after you finish the game. With any ending. Just go download it.
  • There’s another mod. I don’t know what it’s called. I know this mod allows you to save everyone. Won’t go too much on detail. You should download it too. Go to BijuuMike and find the video of saving the four girls of Doki Doki.
  • Sayori, Yuri and Natsuki. Their names end with a “i” while Monika’s name end with a “a”. Strange.
  • Sayori, Yuri and Natsuki all wore the same shoes and socks, but Monika wore differently from all of them. In fact, if you invert the colors you realize that Monika now wears what the other three are wearing, and the three would wear what Monika wear. Interesting.
  • Monika is based on a name called “Monica”.
  • On Doki Doki’s Steam page, there a tag of “Psychological Horror”. So Dan had let you know that there was horror in this game.
  • Last but not least, Doki Doki Literature Club was originally released in September 22 2017, not in Steam.

Now, here are some easter eggs you might have come across or not.

Splash Screen

Now you know this. Once you stepped into the second arc of the game, known as the glitchy part, things really start to fuck up. One of the things that can start to happen is different splash screens.

Each time you start up the game while in the second arc, you might get a different message from the warning shown every time you start the game. Like “You are my only sunshine.” And others.

There’s even a 1/64 chance that when you start the god damn game, it would write “END.” And guess what? They show you the creepy black and white version of the main menu screen. Their eyes are…weird. And if you close the game, it’ll zoom in to Monika’s creepy face before closing it.

Special Poems

Now, there are special poems around in the second arc. There are a total of 11 special poems, and only three can be viewed once per game. So you gotta play many times to get all the poems, which I’m not going to.

Some special poems give you eyesight problem, which happens in-game, so don’t worry it’s not real. But they play music that cause dizziness. So watch out.

Poem Mini-Game

Why do I say that? Easy.

Stickers of the characters act weird, long glitched words appear and that’s all.

If you press words that Natsuki doesn’t like, she pops out her eyes. Rare, but scary as fuck.

Choices and outcomes

Choices, choices, choices. What more can I say?

There is a part where you get to choose Monika, Yuri or Natsuki. The cursor will always bring you to Monika, but if you succeed in pressing either Yuri or Natsuki, you’ll see a screen with Yuri’s creepy eyes. Then they give you a full list choice of…MONIKA (laughs).

If you wrote a poem Natsuki secretly likes, she starts getting upset, and the next thing that happens is she lost her eyes…and fucking breaks her god damn neck. THAT’S FUCKING DISGUSTING.

Recording

Now in the third arc, Monika knows if you’re recording on OBS or something like that. She wants to kiss you but don’t. She then gives you a FUCKING JUMPSCARE. Fuck off, Monika. The other three girls had already big shit jumpscares all over the game, but yours is the worst. It’s the most realistic and most bloody.

Deletion of Monika at the start of the game and restoring her in the fourth arc

Now, you might be wondering to yourself, “Can I delete Monika in the first place?”

Of course you can, it comes with a small price though. If you delete Monika in the first arc at the start of the game, Sayori becomes agitated and scared of everything. She then force closes the game. And when you open it again, you get a “END.” screen with Sayori hanging herself. I think if you waited 10 minutes or something a text would appear beside her hanging body.

If you restore her character file in the last arc, she’ll say “Stop playing with my heart.” And she’ll automatically delete her file from the game.

Character Files

Oh my, do you actually know that there’s a shitload behind the character files?

For Monika, it’s a message if you decode it in the decoding website Base64.

For Yuri, it’s a creepypasta.

For Sayori, it’s a website created only for the game.

And for Natsuki, it’s a weird picture.

And this are just some of the easter eggs that is hidden in this game. There are more, but I chose not to talk about them. Play the game many times, and you might be able to find all the easter eggs.

This would be the official end of Doki Doki Literature Club’s review. Thank you so much for reading my review and gameplay. See you in the next episode. And here’s to a good 2018 ahead.

--

--

HexagonCube
THE REVIEWS

Reviewing movies, games and other stuff. I give casual opinions on things too and say what I hate out loud.