Patristics.info has launched!

Luke J. Wilson
The Sacred Faith
Published in
3 min readSep 12, 2019

--

Patristics.info overlayed on the Council of Nicea icon

Hey everyone, so I’ve “launched” this new site as a new resource for all things early church related. I’ve added a few texts which I already had formatted from my book manuscript, plus other resources like timelines, maps, recommended books etc. I’ll be adding more soon in the coming days.

I’ve also created a “topical index” page too which is auto-generated from the tags on the pages to aid with searching, plus I created a word highlighter on each page so you can search keywords in a text and have them highlighted if you’re looking for particular things.

If anyone would like to be involved to contribute resources or blogs, or have any book you’ve written which you’d like linked/advertised on the site then just get in touch! I want this to be as useful a tool for people who are interested in this area as much as for people who are new to Patristics (the early church fathers).

Features and functionality

Much of the site is ready to go in terms of functionality and resources etc for the time being. I’m still working on adding more Early Church texts to the site, but this takes a lot of time as I need to transcribe them from unformatted text into a nicer format for reading, plus inserting all of the footnotes as well (I’m currently half way through 1 Clement now).

While I mention the footnotes, I’ve created a feature similar to Wikipedia where if you hover on a footnote number, it will display a popup with the footnote text in it hopefully making it simpler to read the Patristic text and quickly see any additional information from the original translators as you go. This should also work well on mobiles too.

A screenshot of the footnotes as a hover popup
Inline footnote hover popups

Another new feature I’ve created is the Quote Search page: https://patristics.info/quote-search.html

This is an experimental tool at the moment while I still perfect it, but please give it a go and submit any feedback if you can. The page will allow you to search a keyword and bring up a list of contextual quotes from within the Church Father texts where that word is mentioned. As far as I’m aware, there’s nothing else like this available online in this format so I hope it will prove useful for study!

Screenshot of an example quote search for the word “baptism”
Example quote search for the word “baptism”

I hope that you enjoy the site and find it a useful tool. Please share it online etc. and if you want to get involved with creating blogs or resources just get in touch, or if you feel so inclined, you can support this project financially via Patreon: https://www.patreon.com/LukeJWilson

Go and explore the site today: Patristics.info !

--

--

Luke J. Wilson
The Sacred Faith

Author • Blogger • Entrepreneur. | Get my new book, 40 Days with the Fathers here: https://lukejwilson.com/amazon