Saints Row (2022) PS5 Review

Nick Miller, MBA
The Sequence
Published in
4 min readSep 28, 2023

--

I put myself in the game, and I really wish I hadn’t. Screenshot Courtesy of Nick Miller, MBA

Playing The Game That Killed Volition

If you’re in the know, you know that Volition Studios, the developers behind the recent Saints Row reboot, permanently shut down. The collapse of a proposed $2 billion partnership with Savvy Games Group in May saw Swedish holdings company Embracer, who formerly owned the studio, go through corporate restructuring as share prices plummeted.

Faulty deal or not, after playing this game, I can see why Volition was one of the first companies to be affected by the restructuring efforts. Currently, the game is ranked a 6/10 on Steam and IGN, and at the time of writing, only 46% of Google users liked the game.

Months prior, I had seen my brother buy a copy of the Saints Row reboot, even after seeing questionable trailers and gameplay videos. I had watched him suffer through buggy gameplay, poor dialogue, and uncharismatic and unlikable characters, and watched the final boss’s torso glitch through his legs during the final confrontation in a cutscene, no less.

After seeing that complete departure from my incredible experience with Saints Row: The Third, I never thought I’d play the game.

Until it came out on PlayStation Plus for free.

Gameplay

--

--

Nick Miller, MBA
The Sequence

Digital Marketer • Writer • Audience Growth Hacker • Gaming Aficionado • UC Lindner College of Business Class of 2021 • Miami University Class of 2020