Meeting the Fake Randy Meisner

Michael Lortz
Michael Lortz Creates
Nov 10, 2020

--

A few months ago, UltimateClassicRock.com wrote an article about the tale of Lewis Peter Morgan, a man who impersonated Eagles bassist Randy Meisner for years. There doesn’t seem to be any new news about Morgan or Meisner, so I am not sure why UltimateClassicRock decided to post the tale.

But other websites have also written about Morgan’s attempt to impersonate Meisner. According to SFGate.com, Morgan was arrested in 1998 for being a Meisner imposter.

In 2006, Morgan was seen at a poker tournament according to Gambling911. In 2014, Nolan Dalla also wrote about meeting the imposter.

Between 1998 and 2006, I also met someone who claimed to be Randy Meisner in a bar in Tallahassee, Florida. It might have been Lewis Peter Morgan. I wrote about meeting this man in a college paper I wrote in 2001.

Here is what I wrote:

After interviewing Jenine, I met a man who claimed to be a founding member of the famous rock and roll band the Eagles. He introduced himself as Randy Meisner and continued on about how he was taking a Greyhound bus to Tempe, Arizona to go to Lake Tahoe with 70’s singer/ songwriter Jackson Browne (12). A week later I did research on Mr. Meisner, who was indeed a member of the Eagles. However, the man at Fatty and Skinny’s claimed to be 63. Randy Meisner is 55 years of age. I also read an online article about an imposter in Atlanta claiming to be the classic rock band’s bass player. Was the individual I met really Randy Meisner? Or merely an imposter?

--

--

Michael Lortz
Michael Lortz Creates

Writer. Analyst. Trainer. Author, Curveball at the Crossroads. Writing on Medium is a waste of time. Don't do it.