My first WrestleMania moment in 34 years

Michael Lortz
Michael Lortz Creates
4 min readApr 18, 2021

--

When I was a kid, I was a big fan of the WWF. In the glory days of the mid-1980s, Hulkamania was in full effect. Every Saturday, I watched the Hulkster, Junkyard Dog, Hillbilly Jim, Roddy Piper, and other good guys do battle in the ring against the Iron Sheik, Andre The Giant, Nikolai Volkov, Mr. Fuji, and other bad guys.

In early 1987, my dad won two tickets to a closed-circuit showing of WrestleMania 3 at Nassau Coliseum, one of 160 closed circuit locations across America. While WrestleMania 1 & 2 were big, WrestleMania 3 was bigger. In pure wrestling spectacle, WrestleMania 3 was the biggest event ever at the time.

For over 30 years, it would be the only WrestleMania I attended.

In the years since 1987, my interest in wrestling has ebbed and flowed. For most of the last 10 years, however, I’ve followed the sport regularly. But I consider myself more than a fan. Through the wrestling career of my brother, I have met several people in the world of pro wrestling. I have talked with Hall of Famers, current stars, and those aspiring to make the next level. Although I am still an outsider, pro wrestling is personal to me. Wrestlers are my friends and family.

In 2008 and 2017, WrestleMania came to Orlando, Florida. Although my home was only an hour away, I did not go. For the former, I wasn’t…

--

--

Michael Lortz
Michael Lortz Creates

Writer. Analyst. Trainer. Author: Curveball at the Crossroads, The Man Makes You Work.