An all natural, healthy, and safe all purpose cleaner.

Allie DeLuca
TheSimpleThings
Published in
3 min readMar 9, 2017

It seems like literally anything that you buy these days can potentially pose a threat to your health. I’m talking about GMO’s, preservatives, pesticides, and chemicals that are found in our food, body care products, and the products we clean our homes with.

What actually stirred me up about this topic is a little worm that was born about three months ago…

Meet my niece Stella! For me, having a baby around made me more conscious about what I was using to clean the house. I knew that cleaning products had harmful chemicals in them, but when it’s yourself, you don’t really care as much (at least I don’t).

Most, if not every cleaning product we have around the house, can pose serious threats to our health.

For example: here are some cautions listed on the back of a Lysol all purpose cleaner.

  • Hazards to Human and Domestic Animals.”
  • “Wash thoroughly with soap and water after handling and before eating, drinking, chewing gum or using tobacco.”
  • “If in eyes: Hold eye open and rinse slowly and gently with water for 15–20 minutes.; Remove contact lenses, if present, after the first 5 minutes, then continue rinsing eye.; Call a Poison Control Center”.

Whaaat?The poison control center!? If something is hazardous for humans then I probably shouldn't clean the counter with it… And I am usually not washing my hands after I touch the counter I just cleaned..

Anyway… My goal is to make cleaning products SIMPLE. We want them to do one thing; clean. And to do it without causing our bodies harm! Let’s go back to a simpler, safer time when what you cleaned your home with, could actually be found in your home.

What you’ll need

A glass bottle-I used an empty apple cider vinegar bottle with an old spray top. Glass bottles are safer because the harmful chemicals in plastic can seep into your spray!

  • 3 parts filtered water- to dilute the scent of vinegar
  • 1 part vinegar- vinegar cuts grease, deodorizes, and disinfects
  • 1–2 tsp lemon juice-lemon juice disinfects and whitens, smells clean
  • 15 drops of lavender essential oil- Lavender is antibacterial and disinfecting and makes the cleaning product smell nice

This was soo easy to make. I made this right before work and was only 20 minutes late! I had all of the ingredients at my house already too. I am going to use this to clean common places like the kitchen counter. PS do not mix castile soap and vinegar in any cleaning product, they cancel each other out.

Me and the new mother (my sister) with her new (fav) cleaning product! ;)

Here are some additional natural and safe house hold cleaning recipes.

Toilet Cleaner

  • Pour one cup of baking soda in the toilet bowl and let it sit for one hour. Add one cup of white vinegar and let sit or five minutes. Unless the toilet is supa dirty, this recipe with clean it without scrubbing.

Wood and Tile cleaner

  • Citrus infused vinegar- fill a jar with citrus peels (oranges, lemons, grapefruit), pour undiluted white vinegar over the peels. Let the jar sit overnight then dip a wash cloth in the jar to use.

--

--