My Advice - Simplify

I believe in balance. A little bit of this, a little bit of that.

Allie DeLuca
TheSimpleThings
2 min readMar 12, 2017

--

I believe in balance. A little bit of this, a little bit of that. Take care of your body - eat healthy/get enough sleep/exercise, but killing yourself over it isn’t going to help anyone. Something that I think is majorly overlooked by everyone (myself included), is taking time to relax; which is a HUGE part of taking care of ourselves. When we get a day off, or some free time, we tirelessly seek fun and exciting things to do. Even if your goal is to relax, do we really even know how to do that? I think that relaxing has become more like.. chilling in a catatonic state, half paying attention to netflix, while scrolling down ya news feed.

I don’t say this to be judgmental, but to stress how good it feels to get away from all of the noise of life. And to be honest, It’s so easy to get caught up in constantly going that relaxing actually becomes uncomfortable. You have to sit with yourself and your crazy busy thoughts. But to me, that is all the more reason to dive into that uncomfortable feeling. If something this simple is causing discomfort, something ain’t right .

Simplify your time, even if it’s just for an hour.

I want to spend time. With myself, and the people I care about. When you subtract the distractions of a cell phone, not only will you be surprised how much deeper a conversation can get, but you’ll feel so much more comfortable with yourself.

Take your dog for a walk, take yourself for a walk, go sit outside. Every time that I make time for this type of peace I always feel a million times happier/calmer/more grateful. So that’s my advice, go do it…now!!! ❤

twas freezing today.

--

--