Prototype vNext — Complete Proof of Concept

Alex Frankel
Elephants and Asteroids
2 min readFeb 7, 2018

We have our next major milestone at the end of February. It’s should be a “complete proof of concept”

The official requirement is:

Version 1 (POC) can involve substantial mockup, as opposed to working code/hardware. But the walkthrough must be realistic enough and the overall presentation complete enough that users can evaluate the viability of your idea.

I want to not think too much about implementation. I did that last week. This PoC mockup should have all the details accounted for in the UX. I should be able to answer hard questions about every part of the views. I should have most of the interactions working (but LoFi).

Visuals are a low priority, but it shouldn’t look bad. IA is the most important part of this prototype, because the page structure is very lacking.

It’s due on February 26. As of this writing, that means I have about 2.5 weeks.

Here are some of the high level requirements I’m setting for myself:

High Priority:

  • Better IA/Hierarchy
  • UX for the newly implemented features: Creating new ideologies, always present ideology filter, subpage adds.
  • Consider “quick”ness: How much can I get out of the page in 1 minute? In 5 minutes?
  • Some testing: I have a working thing. I better make some people look at it. There are some css tweaks I want to make and a couple bugs to fix. But after that, I should put it in front of some first years. I should try to make it easy for them to contribute. For example, “Find an article that sounds interesting and add a paragraph”
  • Level Up on design. I want to do a better job of iterating on options, showing them to people and iterating again. I hold on to my designs for waaaayyyy to long.

Low Priority:

  • Newly implemented features
  • Support for markdown
  • Inputs in homepage let you type to search
  • Subpage deletes & edits
  • Level up in web development. For example, doing CSS-in-JS, CSS preprocessing, and CSS grid.

--

--

Alex Frankel
Elephants and Asteroids

Masters Candidate at SVA IxD. Program Manager at Microsoft