🌳09🌳 Interview and Do “Design Sprint” 2.0

Yuxuan Hou
🌕 Thesis Development | 2022🌕
7 min readMar 24, 2022

Reflection from Midterm Presentation

“Detailed user portraits help you find a more human approach to people, finding emotional and associative keys to their hearts.”

— Erik Messaki

I was focusing on 2 target user groups you will find in my article of midterm presentation. However, it makes me CONFUSED about my user journey and proposed solutions. I realized why I didn’t have a clear mind on the approaches is because I did not have detailed user portraits. I see this from the presentation feedback from Tong and Barak.

So this week, I will start by redefining the target user group.

I choose to set (women)influencers as my target users. Because they share their daily life a lot, they are watched closely, and they face more risky issues.

I also remember what Wenxiao told me:” If your solutions fix the trickiest problem for the people who are in the riskiest situation, then your solution will settle all the matter for everyone.”

It boosts my determination and confidence.

2nd Round “Design Sprint”

This time I make an individual risky report for each influencer I’m going to interview to see how it works. And do they also care about their digital assets?

1. Connect with influencers:

It is not an easy mission actually. Because l only get a few responses during the process. And some of them also lost touch in the process of scheduling interviews. (I guess just because they did not have enough time to read every DM in their box.)

In the end, I successfully connected with 3 influencers and make the user testings. It is all thanks to Sukky’s (and Brenda’s) help. I really appreciate it!

2. Plan the testing journey

Collect all uesers’ clues — Face them— Take an action— Fight with them

In the 2nd round “Design Sprint”, I will test these following points:

  • whether this user journey work for influencers
  • users want to check before posting or connect with their account(detect online)
  • are they familiar with “right of digital assets”?
  • users only want to check their own posts or they also want to keep/own their digital right?

3. Make an online privacy report + ranking leaked points + digital assets agreements from different companies for each one(I will show them in the testing part)

4. Do the testing

Test Process

1. Sukky’s Testing

Sukky is a really popular content creater in multiple social medias, especially in TikTok(Chinese version-Douyin).

She started her creating journey since middel of lat year, and now she has 280k followers! Her target followers are girls/women.

Sukky is a daily life creater online, so there are lots of sensitive information in her content.

It’s really risky and necessary to help her check the content.

Key Take-aways:

  • She got some harassment from some uneducated and rude man since the beginning of her creating journey.
  • She cares about online privacy, because of self safety. She got some messages like, are u live in xxx apartment, and etc?
  • She is open with her major, school and salary, but no okay with her address, real name, email, phone number, bank info and relatives’ info.
  • If there is a platform which could help her check if she are leaking sensitive info, she would love to use.
  • She wants the platform could connect with her account, then she don't need to check the content every time.
Sukky’s Dashboard[blurring some sensitive information to protect her privacy]
Sukky’s Acceptance Level of Possible Leaked Points

I have received a lot of malicious messages and privacy concerns since I started as a blogger. They asked me like, are you live in this apartment? It scares me. I want to be protected.

— Sukky

2. Senza’s Testing

Senza is a outfit blogger in Redbook(kind of like Chinese Instagram). She started her journey for half years. Her target followers are girls/women. And now she got 42.1k followers.

In her content, she only shares her OOTD everyday. She did great job of keepping her online safety. There is no any sensitive information in her content.

Before I did the test, I am quite wondering is it necessary to check whether she are disclosing privacy and dose she care a lot? I would love to talk with her and get the feedback.

Key Take-aways:

  • She got some harassment from some uneducated and rude man since there are increasing follwers.
  • She cares about online privacy. She only want to be open with her face and outfit.
  • She has a another account to go through other’s content and don't want to share everything online, like her comments/like/share with other users.
  • She prefer checking sensitive information before posting, it will not make serious consequences. But it’s great if there is a double checking and protecting approaches.
  • She wants to own all content right(digital assets right), and don't want to anyone or any platform to reshare/readjust her contents.
Senza’s Dashboard[blurring some sensitive information to protect her privacy]
Senza’s Acceptance Level of Possible Leaked Points

Some photos of my blogger friend was stolen and used on a dating app. Afterwards we found out about it after her fans told her.

As a blogger who needs to share frequently, we lack effective means of protection. Mostly what I can do is only let it go.

— Senza

3. Daguo’s Testing

Daguo is an expert in being influencer! She run more than one successful accounts in latest 4 years. Each account got so many followers.

Currently, she is in her master journey. She shares her daily life sometimes and casually run a account on Redbook(kind of like Chinese Instagram). And for this account, she got 76.2k followers.

Daguo is quite different with Sukky even though she is also a daily life sharer. But she rarely share her real name, major, inside of her the apartments. I guess is she has so much experience, so she is good at hot to protect herself online.

I am wondering does she also need a platform to help her protect online privacy?

Key Take-aways:

  • She got online harassment from lots of gossip women and men since there are amount of followers. She believe it could not define in sexsual, some people in men or women both do bad things(online stalking, harrsement, and image embezzling, and etc).
  • She cares about online privacy. In this new account, she only share some normal content or business contact way. Before she posts any content, she always check leaking sensitive information.
  • She is very serious if there are some friends or relatives in her pictures. She absolutely ask their permission first and then share.
  • She also has a small account to go through other’s content. But she is okay interact with other influencers.
  • She would love to have a platform that could help her check online privacy. On top of that, She really cares about the safety of this platform. All the information should only be open to herself.
  • She attaches importance to the digital assets. It happens a lot that some strangers steal her photos and misuse them, like masquerading her to sell something or cheat her followers out of their money.
  • She could not search everytime on every platform around the world. Mostly it happens her followers will talk about some misusing issue. And her agency does not pay much attention on this kind of stuff. But she believe if there is protecting online platform, her agency would love to use it!
Daguo’s Dashboard[blurring some sensitive information to protect her privacy]
Daguo’s Acceptance Level of Possible Leaked Points

A few days before, my followers told me that someone misused my photo to scam money on facebook. One of my Singaporean followers told me that she got scammed a lot of money and I should fight with it and report the account. Of course I will do this, I don't want this kind of stuff happen.

But I don’t have time to check social media all over the world, and a lot of the time it’s just after things happen. And the brokerage company doesn’t care about this kind of thing, I really hope someone can help us.

— Daguo

Trailer — Digtal Assets

In the recent articles, I mention a words “Digtal Assets” frequently. I will do a detailed introduction of it in the next articles.

Stay tuned ;)

--

--