🌳13🌳 Redefine HMW, Make User Journey, and JTBD

Yuxuan Hou
🌕 Thesis Development | 2022🌕
3 min readApr 17, 2022

Reflecting on my HMW is one of the most frequent things I do in my design process. From the last semester till now, I have adjusted my HMW almost 10 times.

This time, I am considering my consciously based on my advisors’ feedback. “Recalling your interviews' insights, pain points, struggling, imagination, and your design solution, how will you update your HMW?”

HMW

According to this reflecting process, I decided to change my HMW to How might we protect users’ online privacy and help me fight for their digital assets’ rights?

User Journey

Different from the last user journey, this time I want analysis the user journey more specifically, and clarify the touchpoints, pain points, support, and users' emotions.

User Journey

After talking with Kate(my advisor), she helps me to find the most important phase, the most difficult phase I need to figure out.

  • Before users use my service, what can you make them know it?
  • How can you make them trust it? It is an information collecting box…
  • Everyone has a different accepting level of privacy, it needs to be adjusted…
  • How do users take the action? by themselves? or by your platform?

JTBD

In this series of JTBD, there still are some problems.

  • In the before-knowing stage, how do the users know it? it should be clear.
  • In the identifying and checking stage, the users should already know the platform.

Next Steps:

  • Make the storyboard
  • Redefine the JTBD based on the feedback from Kate;)
  • Make user flow and wireframe
  • Brainstorm the thesis presentation

--

--