Conquering a Pace

Avesh Singh
thesixminuteproject
2 min readJun 1, 2018

Running is a simple sport. A race is measured by one criteria: Time. It does not matter what you wear to a race, the thoughts that pass through your mind when running, or how your running form looks. These things may be inputs to your performance, but ultimately what matters is how fast you run.

I measure my races by pace, in minutes per mile. While many experienced runners will talk about a 3 hour marathon, or a 36 minute 10k, I describe these times as a 6:50 pace marathon or a 5:50 pace 10k. In doing so, I can better understand a race time. When a friend runs a 2:37 marathon, I recognize that as a 6 minute pace marathon, and remember what it feels like to run at 6 minute pace.

My landmarks of running progress are also paces, for example a half marathon at 8 minute pace or a 5k at 6 minute pace. From this mindset arises the notion of conquering a pace. Of completing first a mile, then a 5k, 10k, half marathon, and ultimately a marathon at this pace.

The goal of conquering a pace is neither practical nor productive. Could you imagine finishing your first 7 minute mile and being told “ok, now run a marathon at that pace”? No, conquering a pace is more a milestone than a goal: Something you only notice when you’re close.

I’m getting close enough to see the 6 minute mile marker, and am ostensibly starting this blog to document my progress towards it. But in reality, this is a running blog where I’ll talk about nutrition, goal setting, and the running lifestyle.

During my first 5 years of running, I saw 6 minutes per mile as fantastically fast. When I first ran a 6 minute mile back in 2015, my perception didn’t change much. In fact, it still hasn’t — I’m currently training a few friends to run their first 6 minute mile, and am recalling how hard it is to run at that pace.

But earlier this year I completed a half marathon at a 5:50 pace. I still have a hard time believing that, especially on days when I lace up my shoes and struggle to run 2 miles at sub-6. But the clock doesn’t lie, and now I wonder if I could maintain a 6 minute pace for a marathon.

There are certain barriers that are preventing me from running a 2:37 marathon, and I plan on systematically tackling each of them. Honestly, I have no idea if I’ll be able to do it, but if I can conquer the 6 minute pace, it’s going to happen in the next 2 years.

--

--