Contributor Showcase: Happy Memories Interview Series with Mutmainna Badr Oluwatobi

The Stripes Magazine
Thestripesmag
Published in
2 min readOct 2, 2023
#HappyMemories: Mutmainna Badr Oluwatobi

Stripes Literary Magazine Happy Memories issue is coming and we spoke with Mutmainna Badr Oluwatobi. Mutmainna is one of our contributors, join us as we talk writing, Inspiration and all things beautiful.

What was your inspiration for “The night I tagged you mine”

I was inspired by the theme; “happy memories.” It made me want to write about a very happy memory that I have.

What emotions were you trying to evoke in your readers through this poem?

I have always tried to wring my emotions into all of my poems. In this poem I attached my heart to it. If possible, I want people to see the sincerity in the words, should in case they are going through a hard time believing their partners or whoever they are comfortable with.

Is there a specific event or experience in your life that influenced this poem?

Yes. My boyfriend and I had issues a long time ago and it dragged on and on. One night, we eventually talked it out. I was the insecure one, however. That night I understood that whatever comes for us, he’s ready to face it. It particularly inspired the line; “ if misery is what comes for us, when you are with me, it no longer is misery.”

What are your favourite writing tools?

I love writing with Google docs and Microsoft word.

Which poet sharpens you into a better writer every time you read him?

There are a lot of poets actually. But to mention a particular one, I would say Niyi Osundare. I read different poets but I pick Osundare.

When you think of the word happy, which moment comes into your mind unbidden?

When I am at a lake, sitting on a hill and watching the sunset. It sounds absurd but that moment truly made me happy.

Mutmainna Badr Oluwatobi is currently a student of Health Education at Bayero university Kano. She is a lover of nature. She loves writing love poems and is enthusiastic about reading other captivating poems. Follow Her on Instagram

Follow the Happy Memories Issue On our Instagram page and signup for our newsletter.

--

--

The Stripes Magazine
Thestripesmag

Literary Magazine designed to showcase creatives at every level of their literary career.