Letters: Interview With Precious Chidera Harrison (The Showcase)

The Stripes Magazine
Thestripesmag
Published in
4 min readApr 29, 2024
Precious CHidera Harrison: Letters

If You Could Write A Letter To A Friend Or Person You No Longer See Or You Lost, What Would Be The First Sentence?

It’s rare to hear me say I missed someone.

How Often Do You Write Letters? Do You Even Write Letters?

I barely write letters. Somehow I try but I can’t think of ever completing any letter I started. Most times I just write a letter to clear my mind. I mean I could just return home one evening, get a pen and paper and write a short letter to someone even though I’m very much aware the letter wouldn’t reach the person in the end. Sometimes I prefer text when it comes to expressing how I feel. Especially about a person I’ve been away from for a long time. But the thing is exchanging letters seem to be much of a weird stuff among Nigerians. So I don’t do letters.

Do You Have A Daily Habit That Is Part Of Your Normal Life That You Can Say Contributes To Your Poetry Career?

Listening. As a poet you always have to keep your ears open.

Let Me Follow Up On That Question By Asking: For You Is Poetry A Full Time Career? Do You See It Getting Big Or You Want To Do Something Else And Fit In Your Art Alongside?

Sometimes I wish it was. But no, poetry isn’t a full-time career for me. I can’t really imagine surviving in Nigeria as work-less artist. Maybe, in more developed countries there is such a thing as a ‘full-time’ career poet. But definitely not in Nigeria. Lol. I want to get better. We all have to earn a living, and writing in Nigeria can’t assure you that. So it’s just the way you put it: fit your art alongside. So while we try to earn a living we are also making out time for writing and equally trying to connect with like-minded people and gain more readership on different social media platforms.

Does Your Family Read Your Work And Talk About This Part Of Your Life?

I hate to say this but if I must be honest with you, my parents rarely talk about my writing. My journey as a budding writer has been a very lonely and challenging one. Although my mum tries. Yes, she does. Sometimes she asks about my submissions and acceptances. My elder sister sees my posts on social media and never fails to drop the conversation but it’s just on social media. The well-known poet Kwame Dawes stated it clearly that “Writing is a lonely pursuit,’’ and I think he was referring to almost every African writer, especially poets. As a Nigerian poet, you owe so much of your progress as a writer to the small circle of writer-friends you made on social media.

I Saw Your Interview With Pawners And Yes, You Have Grown Your Art As A Poet. Congratulations. Which Work Of Yours Do You Look Back On And Say, This One Was The Magic, This Started Everything?

The poem published in Brittle Paper. My Love For You Is Thirst, is a poem on the theme of love and desire. Brittle Paper is one literary magazine I’ve always admired. That poem did it.

Which Theme (Topic) Would You Say That Most Of Your Poems Follow?

As an artist, it is difficult to do a particular thing. I love eclecticism. I like to try different stuffs. Last year, most of my poetry were on love, identity, self-hood and politics. But since December till late my writing mostly explore themes such as trauma, loss and memory.

Most Of Your Poems Are Free Forms But, Which Poetry Form Would You Love To Master?

I love the free verse form. I also love experimental poetry a lot. Because I love liberty. I hardly write rhymed poetry these days. Although back then my poor attempts at rhyme only made me a waffler on pages.

Have You Ever Had To Decide Not To Continue Working On A Piece? How Did You Reach The Conclusion That It Was Not Ever Going To Work With That Piece?

I don’t know but I believe every poet is always thrashing out one or two drafts. A lot goes into the waste bin. There is always hope for every bad piece. Writing is very much similar to building: a brick beside brick, a brick on another, the house rises. You just have to be a bit more imaginative. The thing is unlike building your materials are not physical. Also, there’s almost very little time.

What Follows On Your List Of To Do’s After A Good Writing Session?

Sleep comes to mind. But most times I feel like chatting with a friend, reading and seeing some memes. Laughter is always the perfect treat after finishing that poem.

PRECIOUS CHIDERA HARRISON is a Nigerian poet born and raised in Port Harcourt. He is the winner of the poetry category of the maiden edition of the Pawners Paper Poetry Contest, 2024. He was a honorable mention in the inaugural Rhonda Gail Williford Prize, 2023. His debut chapbook manuscript was longlisted for the Arting Arena Poetry Chapbook Manuscript Prize, 2023. His writings have appeared or are forthcoming in Arts Lounge, Hot Pot Magazine, NWF Journal, Brittle Paper, FERAL Journal, World Voices Magazine and SprinNG Journal.

Connect with Precious:

Twitter: @ChideraHarry

Instagram: preciousharrison012

Have you read LETTERS? Would you love to be part of our Journey? We are helping beginner creatives find a home for their works. Join Us.

--

--

The Stripes Magazine
Thestripesmag

Literary Magazine designed to showcase creatives at every level of their literary career.