The Stripes Magazine
Thestripesmag
Published in
3 min readFeb 11, 2022

--

Photo by Neel on Unsplash

Who do I create for? A Creative’s Inner battle : A matter of taking sides and pitching tents.

Every beginner writer (except you are the special one) and even established writers battle with the question of who to create for.

Many begin a story which will never be truly good enough (Their opinion because of the doubts and expectation) and others never begin because, well it will never be read by anyone.

The question of who to create for was here before you and me, it will be around as long as creativity remains.

Who am I to create for?
Who am I to create for?
Who is my art for?

The reader VS editor?

It is the editor that has the final say if my book is to be published but at the end of it all stands my reader appalled that I could make art like this. This divide of the struggle is real. The editors have a perceived idea of what should go into the market and the readers have their own vague ideas too. You are right there in the middle skirt pulled this way or there till…

Who to create for?
Who am I to create for?

The editor VS my circle of friends and family?

They say friends and family are all this world is worth, those you have beside you and with you so you write for them? But the editor comes in her expression, gold; “I love the intrigue you put in there” while your family is mad at the exposure, the madness that proves to the world how crazy it is within.

Who do you create for?

At the end (or start) of the day we must all decide which of the demons to face. We must deal with our choices and there is no escaping them. Life as a creator is one big, fat game of time and chance.

I cannot help but feel the panic you feel when you think through the cons and pros of each side of the divide.

Can we not have a divide? Sorry, life runs on these divides.
To sell or not to sell out, literary versus genre fiction, old age against new age poets, starving artist versus the commercial artist and wheew…
It is funny but it is also reality and a different version of beauty.

Like it or not castes and assumptions (divides) have run mankind for years and will continue to do so. It is sadly (or not) the only way humans can gain perspective, arrange thoughts and fill out the little mind box that keeps our world in order. We all keep a close eye on the divide, it is impossible not to.

So, who do you create for? I don’t know. I cannot tell you that. It’ll be like asking me who you should marry or who you should fall in love with.

But, who do I create for?

Myself! I Say it like I do not care because my art is mine and it’s a gift to ME.

@thestripesmag quoted

No matter the divide I choose, I am pitted against someone, some class, some fundamental idea; why not brave it and do what I will enjoy right?

Pros?

•Excitement whenever you think of creating something new.

•Peace of mind

•Satisfaction

•And the peculiar feeling that you are amazing.

Cons?

I do not see one; I enjoy the game of creativity.

Truthfully I may stand alone in this me against the world kind of situation but I doubt it. Still, if this is the case it makes my life exciting to think of the adventures I will embark on with my art and creativity. I may also have to learn various aspects of this game of creating, I may have to learn to actively seek out other humans who (will) enjoy my art. It is an adventure.

I create for me, end of discussion. click to tweet

It is up to you to decide your divide (and stick with your decision in peace).

--

--

The Stripes Magazine
Thestripesmag

Literary Magazine designed to showcase creatives at every level of their literary career.