A Woman of Many Jars

The Tribe Lagos
The Tribe Stories
Published in
3 min readNov 10, 2017

There are the Proverbs 31 kind of women, those women you grew up admiring to be like, whom you hoped you’ll become like someday; no crack, no dent, top-shelf-kind of women, the kind who had it all figured out… and there is me, the kind of woman who doesn’t have it all together, worn out, tired and laden with jars. Jars of all types; wooden, plastic, metal, some with lids and others without lids. This was me, a woman with jars for every occasion.

Every day I walked along the same long and narrow path to the well to fetch my daily provision of water, and every time I returned home, it was to a different man, none that I could ever call my own. For years, I have kept my routine of going to and fro this well, for daily I thirst and even after each drink, after each new man my thirst lingered, my soul hungered for more but today I met a man, a new man while I was at the well filling my many buckets and minding my own business, he had no buckets and I said to him “Sir, you have nothing to draw with and the well is deep…”.

Truly the well was deep and has kept many before me coming back for generations, this was Jacob’s well. My good friend likened this well to the insatiable urge of an addiction with drugs, food, with my jars, with men, and how they have kept me occupied, and coming back for more.

This good man I met at the well came thirsty but it was my thirst that was quenched forever. What I did not know was that it was I who had nothing to draw with for he was the true well, the one which never ran dry. Nothing I had could earn me a drink from him; not my knowledge, not my beauty, not my charm, not my many years of skill in drawing water from the well, yet he looked at me irrespective of the fact that I did not deserve a drink from him, I was an inferior Samaritan, I was the woman who other men avoided for I had been with many others, I was guilty and ashamed, I was tired and thirsty but he quenched my thirst.

There are Proverbs 31 kind of women, those women you grew up admiring, wanting to be like, women you hoped someday you’ll grow to become; no crack-top shelf-kind of women who had it all figured out… and there is me. Today I met a man at Jacob’s well, he came thirsty but it was my thirst that got quenched forever, guess I won’t be needing those pots anymore.

Written by Lynda Kathure.

Lynda Kathure is a Nutritionist and Mental Health Advocate. She loves to write and she’s passionate about serving others through Christian ministry and worship. She loves Christ deeply because He loved her first.

--

--

The Tribe Lagos
The Tribe Stories

God Lovers, Experiencing and Expressing the very Heart of our Father | Meet us at Ahava Cafe, 7 Wole Olateju Street, Opp Access Bank, Off Admiralty Lekki Phase1