Called Without A Title

We are called to reach the world, don’t let titles limit that

The Tribe Abuja
The Tribe Stories
3 min readApr 16, 2019

--

by Chinny Okafor (@chinnyoh)

I’ve always been good at holding things in but the moment I gave my life to Christ, it became impossible. The more I fell in love with God, the harder it was for me to not tell everyone about Him.

This wasn’t easy though. I had quite a few factors working against me — I’m naturally introverted, I freak out under attention, oh and I’m a woman! These things made me hold back. I remember being in bible study meetings and literally shutting the Holy Spirit up because I didn’t want to “disobey” scripture. I remember feeling like I wasn’t a pastor or an ordained minister so there was no way God was really telling me to speak or preach or share the gospel. I was convinced I was making up those inner promptings in my heart.

But I wasn’t… the more I spent time with God, the more I saw the need of the world to hear the truth about scripture and the heart of Christ. And the more my heart agreed with God that I should share His love, the bolder and more confident I became. This boldness also helped get rid of my fear of misleading people or saying wrong thing. I realised that all I can really do is listen to the Holy Spirit and speak what He tells me.

So Jesus said to the Jews who had believed Him, “If you continue in My word, you really are My disciples.””
‭‭John‬ ‭8:31 ‭HCSB‬‬

According to that scripture, it’s safe to say the criteria for being a disciple is to continue in God’s word. Or as some versions say “keep living out what I (Jesus) tell you”. Obedience to the word of God and following Christ makes you and I disciples.

In Matthew 28:19 Jesus is speaking to His disciples (that’s you and I!) as He commands them to “Go, therefore, and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit,” (HCSB)

This is the command He gave to His disciples. This is the command He gave to me. This is the command He gave to you. The Message translation says “Go out and train everyone you meet, far and near, in this way of life, marking them by baptism in the threefold name: Father, Son, and Holy Spirit. Then instruct them in the practice of all I have commanded you. I’ll be with you as you do this, day after day after day, right up to the end of the age.”

The disciples weren’t ordained in a church. They were regular people like you and I (some may say even more flawed than we are) who chose to follow Christ and thus, had a relationship with Him. They were lovers of Christ. That’s what qualified them to speak; the love they had for Christ.

The office of a Pastor cannot be belittled by the genuine, active pursuit and declaration of Christ by the body of Christ. I’m not a pastor or an ordained minister and I don’t know, but I highly doubt I will ever be either. I just really love God and want to tell people about Him. I don’t need a title for that. You don’t need a title either.

When you love God and experience the love of God, you realize how unfair and completely selfish it is to keep that all to yourself. You will want to spread the good news you learned at church on Sunday or during your quiet time on Thursday. Whether it’s by speaking or just in the way you treat people, the world needs to meet and hear about Christ. So use whatever means necessary. I love using social media because it allows me reach a wide audience quickly. Whether it’s YouTube, Instagram, Twitter, going out to evangelize in the streets, do whatever you need to do to make sure that you are sharing that love. Be Holy Spirit inspired, informed and led. Let the world “taste and see” that the Lord is good, through you!

Chinny Okafor is a member of The Tribe Abuja and she serves on the Worship Team and in the Communications Department.

Follow her on Twitter & Instagram @chinnyoh

--

--

The Tribe Abuja
The Tribe Stories

WELCOME HOME #TribeThursdays Thursdays 5:30pm, The Porch, Maitama - Sundays 9:30am No. 50 Ademola Adetokunbo Crescent, (Besides HMedix), Wuse 2.